Skip to main content

Al Cohn Memorial Jazz Collection Holdings

Fall 2019 Event

Our Jazz Listening Series in the Kemp Library continues on select Wednesdays at 7pm in the listening lounge. Come out and listen to a unique jazz record selected by Matt Vashlishan each week. Series runs through the semester.

Free and open to the public, just relax and listen!

For more information, please visit the Jazz at ESU website.

The Phil Woods Six, Live From The Showboat - Jazz Sextet 1976

Date

October 16

Time

 7:00 PM - 7:45 PM

Location

Kemp Library: Jazz Lounge

View Details


Thad Jones & Mel Lewis, Live at the Village Vanguard - Big Band 1967

Date

November 20 

Time

7:00 PM - 7:45 PM

Location

Kemp Library: Jazz Lounge

View Details


3rd Annual Duke Ellington Nutcracker Suite

Date

December 7

Time

 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Location

Fine Arts Cecilia Cohen Recital Hall

View Details

Searchable Databases

There are thousands of audio recordings, books, photographs, and sheet music manuscripts in the Al Cohn Memorial Jazz Collection. Click on the links to the searchable databases below to explore our collections.

Archival Collections

The Al Cohn Memorial Jazz Collection offers archival collections that include unique materials collected by musicians such as John Bunch and Zoot Sims. Three archival collections are currently available for research.

John Bunch

John Bunch

 

Zoot Sims

Zoot Sims

Oral History Interviews Published in The Note

The Al Cohn Memorial Jazz Collection includes over 100 oral history recordings, many of which have been published either entirely or partially in The Note. Below is a list of the published transcripts and in the edition of The Note in which they appear.

Maxwell T. Cohen Summer 2005 page 12

Mel Lewis - Part One Summer 2006 page 18

Mel Lewis - Part Two Fall 2006 page 6

Bill Potts Winter/Spring 2007 page 6

Bob Dorough - Part One Summer 2007 page 6

Bob Dorough - Part Two Fall 2007 page 6

John Bunch Summer 2008 page 9

Manny Albam Fall 2008 page 8

Johnny Mandel Winter/Spring 2009 page 6

Stanley Kay Summer 2009 page 6

Jack Eagle Summer 2010 page 20

Elliot Lawrence Summer/Fall 2013 page 6

Med Flory - Part One Spring/Summer 2014 page 7

Med Flory - Part Two Fall/Winter 2015 page 6

Jerry Dodgion - Part One Spring/Summer 2015 page 8

Jerry Dodgion - Part Two Fall/Winter 2016 page 20

Bob Dorough Fall/Winter 2017 page 6