Federal Information Resources - Government Documents - Federal Information Resources - LibGuides at East Stroudsburg University of PA

Finding Government Information Online

Recent Government Documents
Historic Government Documents

USA.gov
It's like "Google" for the government! USA.gov is the U.S. government's official search engine that provides results from federal, state, and local government websites that is available to the public. Use this portal to search for current government policies and programs. Administered by USAGov, a division of the U.S. General Services Administration's Technology Transformation Service.
GovInfo
Provides free full text of official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, including Congressional, Presidential, agency, and judicial collections. Administered by the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO).
GovInfo replaced FDsys in Dec 2018.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
A comprehensive index of records for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Administered the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO).
Date range: 1976 - Present.
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
Ben's Guide is a kid-friendly website designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government. Ben's Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO).

Documents of Democracy

USA.gov History features links to the Declaration of Independence, the U.S. Constitution, and the U.S. National Anthem.
America's Founding Documents from the National Archives includes full text documents and resources on the Declaration of Independence, the U.S. Constitution, and the Bill of Rights.

Military Records

National Archives Military Records Research: Research by Military Branch, by War or Conflict, or by Topic.
Online Veterans and Military Documents: National Archives collections available online.

How do I find Government Publications by a Popular Name?

Legislation by Popular Name

Popular Name Tool: Search or browse the U.S. Code (i.e. codified laws) Table of Acts Cited by Popular Name. Click here to check currency of the online U.S. Code.

Example: Obamacare or Affordable Care Act, see Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act: Pub. L. 111-148, Mar. 23, 2010, 124 Stat. 119

Short Title, see 42 U.S.C. 18001 note

Historic Government Reports by Popular Name

Popular Names of U.S. Government Reports: Published in 1984, this guide will help you find historic government reports by an individual's name instead of a longer report title.

Example: The "Warren Report" on the assassination of President Kennedy.