Skip to Main Content

Business Management

A research guide for students and faculty in the College of Business & Management.

Find Industry Information

How to Find Industry Information on First Research from Mergent:

 

1) Go to First Research from Mergent.  Use the link above or the First Research link on Kemp Library's Databases page. 

If you are off campus, you'll need to login with your ESU username and password (just as you do to access your ESU email).  If you are on campus, then you will not need to login.

2) Click on CONTINUE.

First Research from Mergent - Click Continue

3) You will see the following page.  If it does not load on it's own, click on CONTINUE.

First Research Industry Intelligence - Click Continue

4) Click on the Submit button on the left side. 

Access First Research - Click Submit

5) Search for a specific Industry or Browse Industry Profiles.

Search for Industry and Geographic Profiles

6) Review search results list and select an industry. 

Review search results and select an industry

7) Review the Profile Overview page.  On the left side, click on the subheadings to learn more about industry issues. 

Profile Overview and left side navigation about the industry

 

Remember to write down the NAICS and SIC codes, as you may need them to look up the industry in other resources.

Write down the NAICS and SIC codes.

How to Search for Industry Profiles in Business Source Complete:

 

1) Go to Business Source Complete using the link at the top of this page or the link on Kemp Library's Database page. 

  • If you are off campus, you'll need to login with your ESU username and password to access Business Source Complete. 

2) Once in Business Source Complete, click on the Advanced Search link located directly under the search box. 

3) Scroll down to see the Search Options. Look for the Publication Type box. Within the Publication Type box, scroll to Industry Profile and click on it. 

Publication Type box with Industry Profile selected in the Business Source Complete database.

4) Scroll back up to the top and type in a keyword about the industry in the search box. Click on Search. 

Industry keyword search in Business Source Complete

5) If you have many results (100's or 1,00s), then use the Refine Result column on the left side to narrow down the number of results. 

  • You can refine by Publication Date, Language, Subject or Subject: Major Heading. 

6) Go through the results list. Click on an item title to open up the record. This is where you can read the Abstract, which is a summary of the article or report.

  • Most results may be short news articles from industry snapshots such as M&A Snapshot, FRPT - Advertising Snapshot, or FRPT - Ecommerce Snapshot. 

7) Next, find the Full Text. Look for the PDF Full Text, on the left side of the item record.  If there is no full text option, then you can submit an article request through the library's interlibrary loan service called ILLiad. 

 

If you are not satisfied with the results, then try the Business Source Complete (Search by NAICS Code) instructions in the next tab. 

 

How to Find Industry Information with a NAICS Code in Business Source Complete:

 

1) First, you need to look up the NAICS code for the industry.  Go to Census.gov's NAICS website. 

2) On the left side, use the latest edition of NAICS search box (currently 2022) and type in your industry. 

Use the NAICS search box on the left.

3) Review the results list for the most appropriate description of the industry you are researching. Copy the NAICS code (also write it down so you have it). 

Review the results list for the most appropriate industry.

4) Go to Business Source Complete using the link at the top of this page or the link on Kemp Library's Database page. 

  • If you are off campus, you'll need to login with your ESU username and password to access Business Source Complete. 

5) Once in Business Source Complete, click on the Advanced Search link located directly under the search box. 

6) The first dropdown box currently says Select a Field (optional). Change it to IC NAICS Code or Description.

Select NAICS code from the dropdown box.

7) Paste the NAICS code that you copied earlier into the search box and click Search. 

8) Look at the number of results. If you have many results (such as 100's or 1,000's), then you should narrow your results using the Refine Results column on the left side. 

  • Example: I got over 18,000 results for the esports NAICS code 711211. 
  • First, I narrowed by Publication Date. I selected the last 10 years by typing in a new date in the "From" date box. 
  • Next, I narrowed by Language and selected English. Choose any languages you feel comfortable reading. 
  • Then, look for the Source Types category and click on the blue Show More link after the 6th result. Now you'll see a pop-up box with all the available Source Types. Check off one or two to explore source types such as Industry Profiles, Market Research Reports, Academic Journals, SWOT Analyses, etc. 

Source Types Limiter in Business Source Complete         Source Types "Show More" Pop-up Box in Business Source Complete 

 

  • After exploring a source type, you can delete source types you don't want anymore from your current results by clicking on the "X" icon at the top of the Refine Results column. Then you will return to the previous results with multiple source types.

Delete Source Types from your current results by clicking on the "X" icon.

9) Go through the results list. Click on an item title to open up the record. This is where you can read the Abstract, which is a summary of the article or report.

10) Next, find the Full Text. Look for the PDF Full Text, on the left side of the item record.  If there is no full text option, then you can submit an article request through the library's interlibrary loan service called ILLiad. 

11) If you are not satisfied with the results, then you can perform a new search.  Try searching the NAICS code in the first search box and a keyword about your specific industry in the second search box. 

  • Example: I searched the NAICS code 711211 and then esports or e-sports and got 29 results that were more specific to my topic.

Business Source Complete Advanced Search with a NAICS code and a keyword.