Skip to Main Content

Physics

Resources for Physics Majors

Open Access (Free) Journals:

Want to find more open access, top rated physics peer reviewed journals?  Check out this list from Scimago.

 

Handy Free Ebooks:

These online book collections provide access to millions of free ebooks that might help you in your research.

 

  • Central Online & Open Access Library (COOL) :  The aim is to provide an open online platform (reference library) and an open online reference and linking system (reference catalogue) for the scientific electronic publications of scientific associations and organizations. A service of Copernicus.org
  • Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data Reprints (NIST) : Reprints published from Volume 1 (1972) through Volume 27 (1998). See also the JPCRD link below, under EJOURNALS.
  • Physics (NIST) : NIST Physics Program produces the most comprehensive set of reliable physical reference data available anywhere; their collection includes atomic energy levels, transition probabilities, and collision data can be used for characterizing and modeling all types of gaseous systems, including plasmas, planetary atmospheres, and astrophysical media, and for health physics applications. The NIST Chemistry WebBook now contains electronic and vibrational spectra for over 4000 compounds. The WebBook also contains constants of diatomic molecules. The SRD Group has also produced several important compilations of molecular data.
  • Physical Review Focus : American Physical Society (APS). Selections from Physical Review and Physical Review Letters, explained for students and researchers. With an Image Index, and text search function. Archive dates to March 1998.
  • Physics Review Online Archive (PROLA):  Browse and search the bibliographic records for all APS journals, 1893 to present. Full-text article content is only accessible by subscription to the PROLA archive.
  • Scientific Reference Linking System (SREF) :  A database, in which links to the publications of participating publishers are stored. Search online journals (1980-present); view list of SRef publications. A service of Copernicus.org
  • Scitation (AIP) : Formerly the Online Journal Publishing Service - OJPS, Scitation is the online home of more than 100 journals from AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and a host of other prestigious science and engineering societies. For users with no library or personal subscriptions registration enables access to abstracts for which full text is available. Publications can be viewed alphabetically, by subject category, or publisher.
  • SPIRES HEP : From the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) with more than 500,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses comprehensively indexed. A centralized collection of official and personal documents is in development.

*This list put together by the Library of Congress Science Reference Services

  • Argonne National Laboratory :  Argonne National Laboratory is operated by the University of Chicago for the U.S. Department of Energy. The site includes general science news and educational programs, and a searchable database of records of publications written by ANL researchers. They also have a good list of web resources in Physics & Materials Science.
  • Berkeley Lab : The Ernest Orlando Lawrence Berkeley National laboratory performs work in advanced materials, life sciences, energy efficiency, detectors and accelerators. The Physics Division provides information on activities at the lab and links to other physics pages. The Reports Catalog contains citations for Lab-authored scientific and technical documents published since July 1989 and if the Library has the document in an electronic format, a link to the full text is included in the record. These include conference papers and proceedings, journals papers, and theses.
  • Brookhaven National Laboratory: Operated for DOE by Brookhaven Science Associates, a partnership of the State University of New York at Stony Brook and the Battelle Memorial Institute. The Physics Department carries out research in experimental and theoretical high energy, nuclear and condensed matter physics.
  • Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory: Fermilab is a DOE lab for research exploring the fundamental nature of matter and energy. The site offers good online content, especially the Inquiring Minds and the For Physicists pages.
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) : Operated by the University of California, Lawrence Livermore's mission is to apply science and technology in the national interest, with a focus on global security, global ecology, and bioscience. The Science & Technology Catalog is searchable by research area, linking directly to a page of resources.
  • Los Alamos National Laboratory :  A terrific source of online content with multilingual pages including the full-text of many documents on the history of the lab and the atomic bomb. The Research Library is also a great resource.
  • NIST Physics Laboratory :  One of the major operating units of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). It's mission is to support United States industry by providing measurement services and research for electronic, optical, and radiation technologies. Page of links to Physical Reference Data, reference page on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty, Measurements & Calibrations , and Publications, with a searchable bibliography.
  • Oak Ridge National Laboratory : The Oak Ridge National Laboratory is a DOE laboratory managed by Lockheed Martin Energy Research Corporation. Their history page contains a link to a Historical Photo Gallery. The Comprehensive Publications and Presentations Registry (CPPR) contains the bibliographic information for ORNL reports from 1985. The full-text of many reports are available from the late 1990s onward.

 

*This list put together by the Library of Congress Science Reference Services

These are a variety of websites that you may find useful or interesting (in no particular order):

Some YouTube Stations: