LibGuides: Doctoral Student Guide: Ed.D. Resources

Resources

Kemp Library provides access to many subscription databases that will help with your research. On the A-Z Databases page we have included links to databases that are particularly helpful for education research, including those listed below. In the box at the top of the page are listed the "Best Bets" databases for this subject area - try these first.

We also have databases arranged by other subjects and categories you may want to check out:

Following the "Best Bets" are links to interdisciplinary and other databases you may find useful, including the following:

Academic Search Ultimate
CQ Researcher
JSTOR
Nexis Uni
Lexis Nexis Academic is now Nexis Uni! Check out the Top 10 Features here
State Health Facts

Kemp Library maintains subscriptions to a number of journals related to the study of educational leadership and administration. You can search for journals and journal articles through both the Primo Library Catalog and the A-Z Databases page. Below are direct links to some of the journals you might find especially useful for your research:

In addition to subscription journals, many high-quality open access journals in the field are freely available online. A good sources for finding open access journals and articles is the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). Here are direct links to a few of the open access journals you might find useful:

In addition to print books, Kemp Library also provides access to a collection of eBooks related to the study of communication sciences and disorders. To search for eBooks, go to the A-Z Databases page and select E-books under All Database Types. From this list, choose the database you would like to search. Two good ones to start with are Ebook Central and eBook Collection.

The below online book collections provide access to millions of free ebooks that might help you in your studies.

The Online Books Page: over 2 million free books
HathiTrust Digital Library: millions of free books
Bartleby.com: repository for tons of classics, including Bartlett's Quotations, Shakespeare, the Holy Bible, Harvard Classics series and more.
Google Books: millions of books outside of copyright
Internet Archive Ebooks and Texts: over 15,000,000 texts - includes journals
Project Gutenberg: over 57,000 free ebooks
Digital Public Library of America: continuously growing library of thousands of original and primary source materials

Check out the following web resources for additional helpful information related to the subject of education.

National Library of Virtual Manipulatives
EBSCO Open Dissertations
Digital Commons Network: Education (The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.)
PA Department of Education
PA Certification
What Works Clearinghouse "We review the research on the different programs, products, practices, and policies in education. Then, by focusing on the results from high-quality research, we try to answer the question 'What works in education?' Our goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions."
Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, the Bureau of Indian Education and the five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions.
National Association of Secondary School Principals "NASSP promotes excellence in middle level and high school leadership through research-based professional development, resources, and advocacy so that every student can be prepared for postsecondary learning opportunities and be workforce ready."
National Association of Elementary School Principals "The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP), founded in 1921, is a professional organization serving elementary and middle school principals and other education leaders throughout the United States, Canada, and overseas."
Administrators - ED.gov "ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access."

ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.
International Activities Program - NCES "Learn more about how U.S. education compares with education in other countries."
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) "The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."
NCES Common Core of Data "The Common Core of Data (CCD) is a program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics that annually collects fiscal and non-fiscal data about all public schools, public school districts and state education agencies in the United States. The data are supplied by state education agency officials and include information that describes schools and school districts, including name, address, and phone number; descriptive information about students and staff, including demographics; and fiscal data, including revenues and current expenditures."
NCES School District Demographics System "The School District Demographics System provides access to school district demographic and related geographic data."
NCES Schools and Staffing Survey "The Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS) is a system of related questionnaires that provide descriptive data on the context of elementary and secondary education and policymakers a variety of statistics on the condition of education in the United States. The SASS system covers a wide range of topics from teacher demand, teacher and principal characteristics, general conditions in schools, principals' and teachers' perceptions of school climate and problems in their schools, teacher compensation, district hiring and retention practices, to basic characteristics of the student population."
NCES Tables and Figures "This search tool lets you locate all tables/figures/charts published in the inventory of NCES' National Education Data Resource Center (NEDRC) Postsecondary Tables Library; the Condition of Education; the Digest of Education Statistics; Indicators of School Crime and Safety and other NCES publications. Tables are constantly being added (thousands of tables, graphs & figures are now available). State tables can be created by visiting State Education Data Profiles."
OECD Education Database "The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world."
Research & Statistics - ED.gov
Research and Development - College Board
US Census Bureau
Bureau of Labor Statistics principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Includes data on education and training requirements, earnings and unemployment by educational attainment, education spending, and more.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections Data sets from series and individual studies focusing on child development available for download and online analysis.
ChildStats.gov Provides statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.
Child Trends DataBank Provides national trends and research on more than 100 key indicators of child and youth well-being, including health, social and emotional development, income, education, family, and community demographics and characteristics.
Educational Policy & Data Center Provides global education data, tools for better data visualization, and policy-oriented analysis aimed at improving schools and learning in developing countries.
Education GPS Provides the latest information and data on how countries are working to develop high-quality and equitable education systems.
Education Policy and Data Center Provides global education data, tools for data visualization, and policy-oriented analysis aimed at improving schools and learning in developing countries.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) The primary source for data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.
NationMaster: Education Vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources, including the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
OECD.Stat Database covers the following for OECD member nations: enrollments; graduates and new entrants by sex, age and level of education; teaching staff; and expenditure.
Rankings of States and Estimates of School Statistics National Education Association provides facts about the extent to which local, state, and national governments commit resources to public education.
U.S. Department of Education: Data & Statistics Provides detailed information about education-related surveys and program areas. Directs users to NCES website for access to most data.
U.S. Education Dashboard Shows what the U.S. Department of Education considers to be important indicators of how the nation, and each state, is progressing on the outcomes necessary to achieve the national goal of once again having the highest proportion of college graduates in the world.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics Official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. Browse stats by theme, indicator, or country.
World Bank EdStats Comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures and equity. It holds data from various sources in the following data queries:
World Bank Open Data Free and open access to global development data. Browser by indicator to view the Education statistics.

Some sources provided by Rickman Library and Northcentral University Library.