Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Reference Sources

A guide to the variety of electronic reference resources available to the ESU community.

Business and Economics

Mergent Archives
Mergent Archives is a database featuring a vast, indexed collection of more than a century’s worth of global corporate and industry related documents. This collection contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries. Mergent Archives uses a reliable and easy-to-navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs. Coverage includes access to over 1,000,000 historical documents with new reports and companies added daily.

Mergent Online
Mergent Online is a database providing business and financial information on domestic and foreign companies. Company profiles include a company description and history, SEC documents, basic data key financial ratios, earning estimates, stock information, etc. Our subscription also includes the D&B Private Company Directory. Data can be downloaded into spreadsheets and you can create customized analysis and comparison reports.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making.

FRED Economic Data
From the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, this site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The database is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.

MyMoney.gov Financial Capability Research Clearinghouse
This website is a product of the Congressionally chartered Federal Financial Literacy and Education Commission. It contains information on more than 400 reports and articles from Federally-supported research, along with a select number of datasets that are available for use in new research on financial capability topics.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 325 occupational profiles, covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy.

United States Census Bureau Statistics of U.S. Businesses
Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB) is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry. SUSB covers most of the country's economic activity. Tabulations providing data by employment size of enterprise have been assembled as far back as 1989.

United States Department of Agriculture Economic Research Service
The mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making. As a federal statistical agency covered by the Office of Management and Budget's (OMB) Statistical Policy Directives, ERS is responsible for ensuring the quality, objectivity, and transparency of the statistical information it provides.