Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Reference Sources

A guide to the variety of electronic reference resources available to the ESU community.

Geography and Travel

Archives Library Information Center: Geographical Information
From the National Archives, this page includes links to a collection of maps and gazetteers, as  well as links to information about cartography.

Geographic Names Information System
The Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) is the Federal and national standard for geographic nomenclature. The GNIS contains information about physical and cultural geographic features of all types in the United States, associated areas, and Antarctica, current and historical, but not including roads and highways. The database holds the Federally recognized name of each feature and defines the feature location by state, county, USGS topographic map, and geographic coordinates.

The National Map
From the U.S. Geological Survey, The National Map is a suite of products and services that provide access to base geospatial information to describe the landscape of the United States and its territories.

Perry Castañeda Library Map Collection
The PCL Map Collection of The University of Texas at Austin includes more than 250,000 maps covering all areas of the world. Many of the maps in the collection have been scanned and are available online.

U.S. Gazetteer Files
From the United States Census Bureau, the U.S. Gazetteer Files provide a listing of all geographic areas for selected geographic area types. The files include geographic identifier codes, names, area measurements, and representative latitude and longitude coordinates.

Southern Culture