Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Reference Sources

A guide to the variety of electronic reference resources available to the ESU community.

Government

MarciveWeb DOCS
This service provides a government documents catalog of complete records of U.S. government publications from 1976 to the present. This database contains cataloged records, thousands of hypertext links to full text, and the location of each publication in the Federal Depository Library Program. The Kemp Library is an official depository for U.S. government publications. 

Government Documents at ESU
This LibGuide provides links to federal, state, local, and international government departments and agencies, as well as information about the Kemp Library's designation as a federal depository library and how to make use of the Government Documents Collection.

Archives Library Information Center: Government Documents
From the National Archives, this page includes links to government publications in the National Archives, gateways and guides to federal information, finding aids and indexes to government documents, federal directories, and other government publications.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.

Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
The Central Intelligence Agency publishes and updates the online directory weekly. The directory is intended to be used primarily as a reference aid and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States.

Congressional Research Service
This collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. The products in this collection were created for the sole purpose of supporting Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties. New products are regularly produced to anticipate and respond to issues of interest to Congress on a timely basis.

Contact Elected Officials
From USA.gov, this page links to contact information for the president, federal elected officials, state elected officials, and local elected officials.

govinfo
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO) and provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Content includes Bills and Statutes, Congressional committee materials, and proceedings of Congress; Presidential and regulatory materials; opinions from more than 100 U.S. courts; digitized historical materials; and directories of Congressional members and Federal government officials.

History, Art & Archives - United States House of Representatives
This site is a collaborative project between the Office of the Historian and the Clerk of the House's Office of Art and Archives. Together, the offices serve as the House’s institutional memory, a resource for Members, staff, and the general public.

History of Women in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives 1923-2005
This text provides information on the Suffrage movement, biographies, history of statewide women's organizations, and demographics of the women who have been elected to serve in the state House of Representatives.

USA.gov
USA.gov is a comprehensive online guide to government information and services.

Women in Congress, 1917-2017
Updated through the end of the 114th Congress, Women in Congress, 1917-2017 is written for a general audience and researched using primary and secondary sources. Readers can access the profiles of every individual woman Member as well as up-to-date data and statistics, artifacts, and lesson plans.