Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Reference Sources

A guide to the variety of electronic reference resources available to the ESU community.

History of North America

Archives Library Information Center: Black History
This page, by the National Archives, contains links to American history resources relating to African Americans.

Archives Library Information Center: History
This page, by the National Archives, contains links to resources in American history, ranging from general sites to specific event information.

Archives Library Information Center: Indians/Native Americans
This page, by the National Archives, contains links to American history resources relating to Native Americans.

BlackPast.org
BlackPast.org is an online reference guide to African American history. This 15,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.

Civil War Washington
Civil War Washington examines the U.S. national capital from multiple perspectives as a case study of social, political, cultural, and medical/scientific transitions provoked or accelerated by the Civil War. The project draws on the methods of many fields to create a digital resource that chronicles the war's impact on the city.

Digital Black History
This website is a searchable directory for online projects that can help further Black History research. This ongoing project was created to collect information about these digital projects in order to benefit genealogists and historians who are researching the lives of Black individuals and families.

Encyclopedia of Greater Philadelphia
The Encyclopedia of Greater Philadelphia is a civic project to increase understanding of one of America’s greatest cities. Produced by the Mid-Atlantic Regional Center for the Humanities (MARCH) at Rutgers-Camden, the Encyclopedia as a digital resource and print volume aims to offer the most comprehensive, authoritative reference source ever created for the Philadelphia region.

Historical Society of Pennsylvania
HSP is one of the largest family history libraries in the nation, has preeminent printed collections on Pennsylvania and regional history, and offers superb manuscript collections renowned for their strength in 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century history. The History Online pages of the site provide resources such as digital history projects and exhibits, a media library, and historic images.

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970
From the U.S. Census Bureau this two-part compendium includes more than 12,500 time series, mostly annual, providing a statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political, and geographic development during periods from 1610 to 1970.

Monroe County Historical Association
The Monroe County Historical Association is a cultural and learning center that assists our diverse community of residents and visitors in connecting the county’s past with the present.

O Say Can You See: Early Washington, D.C., Law & Family
This project documents the challenge to slavery and the quest for freedom in early Washington, D.C., by collecting, digitizing, making accessible, and analyzing freedom suits filed between 1800 and 1862, as well as tracing the multigenerational family networks they reveal.

Slave Voyages
This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them. The site includes the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, the Intra-American Slave Trade Database, and the African Names Database, as well as a nice collection of maps, timelines, videos, images, and other resources.