Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Reference Sources

A guide to the variety of electronic reference resources available to the ESU community.

Medicine and Health

Nursing Reference Center
Nursing Reference Center is a reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses. This database offers evidence-based disease & condition information written specifically for nurses, as well as patient education content and drug and reference information from top publishers. Access is provided to the CINAHL Nursing Guide, reference books, point-of-care drug information, patient education information, best practice guidelines, and continuing education modules.

AMA DoctorFinder
From the American Medical Association, DoctorFinder provides you with basic professional information on virtually every licensed physician in the United States. This includes more than 814,000 doctors.

American Hospital Directory
The American Hospital Directory provides data, statistics, and analytics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide. AHD.com hospital information includes both public and private sources such as Medicare claims data, hospital cost reports, and commercial licensors.

County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income inequality, and teen births in nearly every county in America. The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play.

Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the "Pink Book" provides physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and others with the most comprehensive information on routinely used vaccines and the diseases they prevent. Six appendices contain a wealth of reference materials including: vaccine minimum ages and intervals, current and discontinued vaccines, vaccine contents, foreign vaccine terms, and more.

Merck Manuals
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Merck Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As a sign of its deepened commitment to worldwide medical information access and improving global health, the publishers have made the Merck Manuals available for free in digital form for professionals and patients.

MedlinePlus
The National Library of Medicine’s MedlinePlus information pages are designed to direct you to resources containing information that will help you research your health questions. They are designed for educational use only and are not intended to replace advice from a health professional. These pages provide a carefully selected list of resources.

State Health Facts
State Health Facts is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. In some cases, data are available for counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data.

Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
The National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) created the Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms to help everyone understand the terms and concepts used in genetic research. In addition to definitions, specialists in the field of genetics share their descriptions of terms, and many terms include images, animation and links to related terms.