Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Reference Sources

A guide to the variety of electronic reference resources available to the ESU community.

Newspapers and Periodicals

MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the Master List of Periodicals. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices, advertising information, and submission guidelines, as well as statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year.

The Serials Directory
The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from more than 108,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Ulrich's is a source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,00 periodicals of all types academic and scholarly journals, open access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and that are circulated freely or by subscription. It is especially useful for identifying peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly resources for your research.

The Alternative Press Center
The Alternative Press Center (APC) is a non-profit collective dedicated to providing access to and increasing public awareness of the alternative press. The site includes an online directory of alternative periodicals, as well as links to other useful resources.

A Checklist of Pennsylvania Newspapers, Volume 1: Philadelphia County
A project of the Pennsylvania Historical Commission, this resource provides listings for all known newspapers published in the Philadelphia area from 1719-1941.

Radical Periodicals in America, 1890-1950
This book provides bibliographical listings of periodical literature published in the U.S., in the English language, of a radical nature, from the years 1890-1950.

Rowell's and Ayer's American Newspaper Directory
This Library of Congress research site provides digitized volumes of Geo. P. Rowell and Co's American Newspaper Directory (1869-1909) and N. W. Ayer & Son's American Newspaper Annual & Directory (1880-1920).

U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present
The National Digital Newspaper Program is a joint effort of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities to provide a searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. The database can be used to find what titles exist for a specific place and time and how to access them. Over 154,000 titles are currently included.