Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Reference Sources

A guide to the variety of electronic reference resources available to the ESU community.

Political Science

Archives Library Information Center: Politics
From the National Archives, this page includes links to helpful general sites relating to politics, as well as campaigns and elections, and links to political parties.

Ballotpedia
Ballotpedia is a digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Its goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government.

Election Results: Federal Election Commission
Every two years, the Commission publishes Federal Elections, a compilation of the official, certified federal election results obtained from each state’s election office and other official sources. The links on this page provide the primary, runoff and general election results for the U.S. Senate, the U.S. House of Representatives and, when applicable, U.S. President.

Election Statistics, 1920 to Present
Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories. The annual reports are published on this site.

European Data Portal
Funded by the European Union, the European Data Portal harvests the metadata of Public Sector Information available on public data portals across European countries.

Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union, with the mission to provide high quality statistics for Europe. Eurostat offers a whole range of important and interesting data that governments, businesses, the education sector, journalists and the public can use for their work and daily life.

Flare Index to Treaties
The Flare Index to Treaties is a searchable database of basic information on over 2,000 of the most significant multilateral treaties concluded from the 1600s onwards and a number of significant bilateral treaties signed between 1353 and 1815, with links to the full text, where available, providing a research tool aiding scholars and students, lawyers and librarians in researching the international law of treaties.

A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825
Hosted by The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections, A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy.

Office of the Historian (U.S. Department of State)
The Office of the Historian is staffed by professional historians who are experts in the history of U.S. foreign policy and the Department of State. The Office of the Historian is responsible, under law, for the preparation and publication of the official documentary history of U.S. foreign policy in the Foreign Relations of the United States series.

Official Document System of the United Nations
The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.

United Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISnet)
This is a catalog of United Nations documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöldc Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward; however, older documents are being added to the catalog on a regular basis as a result of retrospective conversion.

United Nations Treaty Collection
This site provides information relating to the depositary functions of the Secretary-General in respect of over 560 multilateral treaties, including participation, communications and entry into force. The treaties cover a broad range of subject matters such as human rights, disarmament and protection of the environment.

United States Census Bureau Voting and Registration Data
Voting and Registration data have been collected biennially in the November Current Population Survey (CPS) since 1964. The statistics presented are based on replies to survey inquiries about whether individuals were registered and/or voted in specific national elections.

United States Election Project
The United States Elections Project is an information source for the United States electoral system. The mission of the project is to provide timely and accurate election statistics, electoral laws, research reports, and other useful information regarding the United States electoral system.

World Factbook
From the Central Intelligence Agency, The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.