Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kemp Library During Fall 2020

This page will be updated with all relevant information related to ESU Kemp Library's current operations during the University's response to the current health crisis. Please check this page frequently for changes.

Resources

COVID-19 from:

ESU's

 

COVID-19: Response from the Information Community put together by NISO

This page shares news, research and resources made freely available by information professionals in light of COVID-19. Some peer reviewed data on COVID-19 is available. 

‚ÄčCOVID-19: Response from the Information Community put together by NISO

This page shares news, research and resources made freely available by information professionals in light of COVID-19. Some peer reviewed data on COVID-19 is available. 

American Society for Microbiology
BioOne
BioRxiv

 

Duke University Press

 

Elsevier

 

JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Assoc.) Network

JoVE

 

MedRxiv

 

NEJM (New England Journal of Medicine)

 

OVID Publishers

Oxford University Press
Sage Publishing
Springer Nature
Wiley Online Library

EBSCO Faculty Select

- Request Access by contacting librarians at klibrary@esu.edu

Professor Megan Smith also sent out an email to department chairs with link to Faculty Select.  Link can only be accessed via the email from EBSCO and cannot be copied and pasted.

Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers.

With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020.

COVID-19 Open Education Community Contributed Resources

This includes support for online teaching and student support as well as outreach.

Higher Ed Guidance During COVID-19: Teaching, Learning & Student Support

This open doc was created to be a hub of the many resources, ideas, information, and suggestions for higher ed colleagues as they plan to move teaching, learning, and student support services online, as institutions shut down due to COVID-19.

Online Learning in the Wake of COVID-19: Tips and Resources for PreK-12 with Equity in Mind

Ideas and services that are free or cheaper due to COVID. 

Amazing Educational Resources
Publisher Access Changes, COVID-19
Vendor Love in the Time of COVID-19

Remote Teaching & Learning with OER

National Emergency Library. Please learn more about the National Emergency Library here, and the collections that have contributed to it. 

From EBSCO for COVID-19 - this changes frequently

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews has made its journals available to all (without access control) through Thursday April 30, 2020. On that date, they will assess the need to extend this policy.

 

Cengage (eBooks)

If your campus has been closed due to COVID-19, your students on US campuses get a free subscription to Cengage Unlimited through the remainder of the term, which gives them access to all Cengage ebooks and platforms.

Digital Concert Hall - Berlin Philharmonic

Enjoy our Digital Concert Hall for free for 30 days. Just copy & paste the code BERLINPHIL at https://digitalconcerthall.com/tickets
The Philharmonie Berlin is closed until 19 April to help contain the coronavirus. But the orchestra will continue to play for you – in the Digital Concert Hall. The Berliner Philharmoniker invite you to visit their virtual concert hall free of charge.

JoVE Videos

JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research. Watch our scientific video articles. JoVE is happy to provide all of our Education video content free to use in STEM teaching efforts through June 15th. You can fill out their form to request access.

Kanopy

In addition to titles already licensed, Kanopy is making available a collection of films that our campus can watch at NO COST starting Monday, March 16th through April 12th. Download the full list of titles here. In additional, all selections in the Kanopy catalog from The Great Courses will be available to use at no additional cost for the next 4 weeks.

Met OnDemand

The Metropolitan Opera announced that it would stream encore presentations from the award-winning Live in HD series of cinema transmissions on the company website for the duration of the closure. The new offering will begin on Monday, March 16 with the 2010 HD performance of Bizet’s Carmen. All “Nightly Met Opera Streams” will begin at 7:30pm and will remain available via the homepage of metopera.org for 20 hours. The homepage link will open the performance on the Met Opera on Demand streaming service. The performance will also be viewable on all Met Opera on Demand apps.

On the Boards.TV

Free 48 hour access to all performances available through their site.
The films featured on the website include international and US-based contemporary artists, some of whom are rarely seen live stateside, with works that might not be performed again. We work with our hand-picked film crew to capture live performances, edit collaboratively with the artists, and deliver the best possible video performance straight to you. All proceeds are shared with the artist, so each time you buy or rent a film, you put money directly in an artist’s pocket.

Oxford University Press

OUP has developed this site to help with the challenges of building an online course, even in the best of circumstances. Whether you are an adopter of an Oxford University Press text or not, OUP is providing a number of free resources to help faculty and students experience as little disruption as possible in the move to online teaching and learning.

ProQuest Ebook Central

Coronavirus-Impacted libraries get unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings. Starting next week, ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June. No action is required by librarians to switch on unlimited access – this will be done automatically, and the transition will be seamless for users. Participating Publishers

 

Project Muse

In response to the challenges created by the global public health crisis of COVID-19, Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on our platform. With many higher education institutions moving into an exclusively online learning environment for the foreseeable future, we hope that easy access to vetted research in the humanities and social sciences, from a variety of distinguished university presses, societies, and related not-for-profit publishers, will help to support teaching, learning, and knowledge discovery for users worldwide.

Among the publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books). We expect to announce additional participants and will continually update the list of publishers offering free access to content.

 

VitalSource Helps

VitalSource, which provides 'Inclusive Access' textbooks to BU students, is offering free access for up to 7 textbooks per student from March 16-May 25. This page provides more info. Students simply log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address to access.

 

From #TheOERDigest April 15, 2020:

"#COVID19: We will continue to share some of our favorite, new links for planning, reading, and supporting our communities during this time:

Below are publisher offers for free, open access educational resources. Adapted from a guide developed by Megan Ruenz, Buswell Library, Wheaton College and Bloomsburg University

Text taken from A Wikipedia Librarian. Bold items are links to amazing FREE digital collections!

For masses of cultural content indexed across entire continents, look into DPLACanadianaEuropeana, and Trove. These are fed through state, region, or country collections and have incredible data about treasures of large regions and their history.

The Internet Archive and its Open Library is also another great resource for books: registration is free and you can read or take out many titles. Partnerships with Authors Alliance, the Boston Public Library and MIT Press, mean there is an increasing amount of free and legal material available (and not just books but also sound recordings, TV broadcasts, and films). Archive.org is pioneering a digital access model called controlled digital lending that may prove fruitful and transformative(or illegal, time will tell). Meanwhile, sites like Project GutenbergHathiTrust, and the Directory of Open Access Books also deliver works that are free to access.

Subject Repositories

Many disciplines have spun up their own bigger repositories by subject. The big name is PubMed Central, a repository for medicine that holds over 4 million free articles. Another early winner is arXiv, which has long been a place for folks in the hard sciences to deposit at least “preprints” of their work. A preprint is often quite similar to the published version: if it’s a post-peer review version then the main differences are only cosmetic; meanwhile, if it’s a pre-peer reviewed version the core ideas are likely there although changes do happen after peer review. In any case with socArxiv, bioarXiv, lawArXiv popping up anew each month, this is a nifty hack for most newer research.

Directories such as the Directory of Open Access Repositories (DOAR), Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR), or CORE are worth a try, as is a general open access search like OAIster.org or BASE.

Request a Textbook!

Request an electronic copy of your textbook! Please fill out this form: