- Art Institute of Chicago
Explore online collections, which offer access to over 77,000 works and basic information about works of art from all areas of our encyclopedic collection.
- Allentown Art Museum
- ARTSY
This site has examples of work from over 25,000 artists, including many contemporary artists. Artsy relates artists to movements and styles in the Art Genome Project. There is a commercial element to the site, but it does not detract from the content. Artsy is free but requires login.
- Cooper Hewitt Museum
The Cooper-Hewitt collection is international in scope, includes both historic and contemporary design, and includes one-of-a-kind and mass-produced items. The collection focuses on drawings, prints and graphic works; product design, and furnishings.
-
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America connects people to resources within America's libraries, archives, museum, and other cultural institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA-photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents and more-are free and immediately available in digital format.
- Europeana
Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections
- The Getty Research Institute Digital Collections
Access to digitized items from the Research Library, Special Collections, Photo Archive, and Institutional Archives. These materials range from the 15th century to the present and include books, photographs, manuscripts, archives, and works on paper.
- Google Art Project
A unique collaboration of over 150 art museums in 40 countries. Browse by Museum category and create and share your own "collections."
- Guggenheim Museum – Online Collections
Excellent resource for the study of international contemporary art and artists.
- Library of Congress Digital Collections
Resource for multidisciplinary digital collections including performing arts, prints, and photographs.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art Online Collections
Outstanding online collections from the Met. Categories include: Islamic Art, Decorative Arts, American Painting & Sculpture, European Painting, the Costume Institute, Drawings & Prints, Africa, Oceania & the Americas, Egyptian Art, Musical Instruments, and others.
- Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles
Excellent resource for contemporary art, artists, and thematic exhibits.
- Museum of Modern Art Online Learning
Outstanding resource for research on modern art and its influences worldwide, up to the present.
- The New Museum
Excellent resource on contemporary art, artists, and cutting-edge thematic exhibits.
- New York Public Library Digital Collection
"This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more."
-
Open Culture
Best free cultural and educational media on the web.
- Philadelphia Art Museum
As one of the largest art museums in the United States, the Philadelphia Museum of Art invites visitors from around the world to explore its renowned art collection comprising European and American paintings, prints, drawings, and decorative arts.
- Rijksmuseum Collection
Search the Rijksmuseum (Amsterdam) Collection and use their "Rijksstudio" tool to save and create your own collection of images.
- Smithsonian Museum of American Art
Excellent collection of material about art and artists in the US from multiple national collections housed at the Smithsonian Institute.
- Tate Collection
Beautifully designed online library of the Tate's collections covering art from 1500 to contemporary works. Searchable by artist name, genres, subject terms, with excellent images and descriptions.
- Whitney Museum of American Art Online Collections
Excellent resource for research on contemporary art and artists in the United States.
