Health Studies

Medicine and Health Databases

• Academic Search Ultimate Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more. 
  • 
• CINAHL Complete CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nearly 1,400 nursing & allied health journals. The database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. 
  • 
• Health Source: Consumer Edition This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. 
  • 
• Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names, as well as Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary . 
  • 
• MEDLINE Complete MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. This wide-ranging database contains full text for over 1,800 of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index. With coverage dating back to 1857 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Complete is the definitive research tool for medical literature. 
  • 
• MedlinePlus The National Library of Medicine’s MedlinePlus information pages are designed to direct you to resources containing information that will help you research your health questions. They are designed for educational use only and are not intended to replace advice from a health professional. These pages provide a carefully selected list of resources. 
  • 
• OregonPDF in Health & Performance OregonPDF in Health & Performance provides graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance. The focus of the collection is physical activity. Academic areas of interest include biochemistry, biomechanics, dance, exercise physiology, history or philosophy of physical education, kinesiology, motor control, obesity, recreation, sports marketing, sports medicine, sports pedagogy, sports psychology, and tests and measurements. 
  • 
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. Content areas include business, health and medicine, history, language and literature, science and technology, social sciences, and the arts. 
  • 
• SPORTDiscus with Full Text SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing content from more than 650 full-text journals dating back to 1930. Subjects include coaching and education, exercise science and fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, physical education, physical therapy, and sports sciences. 
  • 

Social Work/Sociology/Criminal Justice Databases

• Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains more than 560,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole. 
  • 
• Sociological Collection Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles, dating as far back as 1965. 
  • 
• SocINDEX with Full Text SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database featuring more than 2.1 million records with full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers. 
  •