LibGuides: Sport Management: Find Company Information

How to Find Company Information

First Research from Mergent This link opens in a new window First Research provides industry profiles for over 900 industry segments. Profiles include an overview of the industry segment, competitor landscape, products and operations, sales and marketing, recent developments, business challenges, trends and opportunities, executive perspectives, interview preparation questions, and financial analysis and industry forecasts.
Key Business Ratios from Mergent This link opens in a new window Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of more than a century’s worth of global corporate and industry related documents. This collection contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries. Mergent Archives uses a reliable and easy-to-navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs. Coverage includes access to over 1,000,000 historical documents with new reports and companies added daily.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Provides business and financial information on domestic and foreign companies. Company profiles include a company description and history, SEC documents, basic data key financial ratios, earning estimates, stock information, etc. Our subscription also includes the D&B Private Company Directory. Data can be downloaded into spreadsheets and you can create customized analysis and comparison reports.

Search companies in Mergent Online to get company details, financials, reports, filings, news, etc.

1) In the basic Company Search box, type in the company symbol or name and click Go.

Mergent's Basic Company Search Box

2) Click on the correct company in the results list. Tip: Get only 1 result if you search by symbol.

Mergent Results List

3) You'll see the Company Details page and can click on the tabs for more information.

Mergent, Apple Inc

4) You can download each tab individually or get a longer report by clicking on the Reports tab and then Mergent Reports.

Mergent Reports, under Reports tab

5) Choose the type of Predefined Reports on the left and then select a format on the right.

Predefined Reports

1) Go to Nexis Uni.

2) Scroll down to the Get Company Info box on the right and click on it to make it bigger.

3) Click on the best result. Tip: Public companies will have more information.

4) You'll see the company snapshot and can select many options, including brands, competitors, financial overview, SEC Filings (latest 10-K filings), industry overviews, mergers, news, and more!

Snapshot of Apple:

Snapshot: Apple, Inc.