Skip to Main Content

Hospitality, Recreation, and Tourism Management

A library research guide for ESU students. Combines resources from Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management and Recreation Services Management

How to Find Journals by Title

Search for a specific journal in an EBSCO Database:

 

 

  • On the blue top banner, click on Publications.

Click on "Publications" on the blue banner in Business Source Complete

  • Type the journal title in the lower search box (see screenshot below):

Search for journal title

  • Review the results list and select the journal if we have it. 

Select the journal

  • If the full text is available, it will list Full Text followed by the publication dates with available full text. 
    • If the full text is not available, it will only list Bibliographic Records with a publication date range.  This means you will only the be able to view the citation information and the article abstract.  To get the full text, you can submit an article request through the interlibrary loan service ILLiad.

 

  • Click on the Journal Title to view the publication details.

 

  • Then click on the Search within this publication link located above the publication details.

Search within this publication link

 

  • Next, click on Advanced Search below the search box. 

Click on Advanced Search

 

  • Type in a keyword in the 2nd search box.  Now you are searching for that keyword only within the selected journal.

Type a keyword in the 2nd search box.

Suggested Journals to use for Dr. Chiang's HRTM 335 assignment

Use Kemp Library's website to find the following journals:

For other journals, go to Google Scholar: https://scholar.google.com/  

  • Click on the top left navigation button and select Advanced Search. 
  • Type in a keyword in the first box. Type in the specific journal title in the "Return articles published in" box. 

Example:  This Advance Search will find articles with the word "sustainability" only within the publication "Journal of Leisure Research". 

Google Scholar Advanced Search example using the keyword "sustainability" and the publication "Journal of Leisure Research"

Links to selected recreation journals:

What are trade magazines?

Trade magazines, or trade journals, are publications written for and by people who work in a specific industry.  Trade magazines are useful for sharing information to practitioners within their field. 

Like regular magazines, trade publications usually have editors.  While trade publications articles are often not peer-reviewed like scholarly journals, these magazines are still highly regarded and considered reliable resources within their fields.  

 

Links to selected recreation trade magazines:

Don't see the full text?  Request journal articles through ILLiad.

 

Instructions on how to access ILLiad from the library's website:

1. Go to Kemp Library's website.

2. Click on Interlibrary Loan link on the right.

3. Click on ILLiad for journal article requests.

4. Sign in with your ESU username and password (like you do for D2L).

  • If it's your first time logging into ILLiad, you'll need to fill out a short registration form before continuing.

​5. Under New Request, click on Article. 

6. Complete the Article Request Form

  • Copy and paste as much of the citation information as possible such as the journal volume number, issue number, month/year, and page numbers.
  • You need to fill in an ISSN for the journal. You can copy and paste it from the EBSCO record. Example:

Screenshot of an ISSN in the EBSCO record

7.  You'll receive an email when your article is available electronically on ILLiad.  It usually takes between 1-3 business days. Login to ILLiad and, under View on the left, click on Electronically Received Articles. You have 30 days to download the PDF.