Map Resources

• Start with broad keywords when searching Primo.

• If you want print maps, books, or atlases at the library, then click on Kemp Library limiter in the Tweak Your Results column. Note: You may not yield many results since we have more online map resources than in print. 

• If you use too many limits in the Tweak Your Results column, you may not get many results.  Try a broader keywords or remove any extra limiters (i.e. publication date, limit to Kemp Library, etc.).

• Maps are often included as plates in books;  Your "map" keyword search is probably retrieving book results because in the record it says the book includes maps. 
• For atlases, use a combined keyword search: subject [place name] and keyword [atlas]:

​

From "Types of Maps Slideshare"

Example of USGS Topographic Quadrangle Map (scale is 1:24,000).

Learn more: USGS Maps FAQ

Besides Kemp Library's Primo catalog, the USGS website, and the US Census Bureau, you can find more historic maps here:

• Digital Public Library of America (DPLA): aggregates online collections from thousands of libraries, archives, and museums.

To search for maps: Type in a location and map (i.e. Monroe County Pennsylvania Map). On the results page, try limiting on the left side in either the subject box (Monroe County (Pa)--Maps) or the location box (Pennsylvania).

• Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps: Penn State University Digital Collections

The Sanborn Map Company, the best known of the US fire-insurance map producers, has made maps since 1867. The fire insurance maps produced by Sanborn show building footprints, building material, height or number of stories, building use, lot lines, road widths and water facilities. The maps also show street names and property boundaries of the time. This collection of maps is historically significant as it is sometimes the best detailed map of a town or city dating from the mid 1800s.

• Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States:  A digital edition of Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright's Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States (first published in 1932) with nearly 700 enhanced maps with animations and underlying data. From the Digital Scholarship Lab at the University of Richmond.

• American Panorama: An Atlas of United States History: Also created by the Digital Scholarship Lab at the University of Richmond, American Panorama is a historical atlas that combines cutting-edge research with innovative interactive maps on inequality, forced migration, foreign-born populations, etc.  

• Library of Congress Map Collections

Searches across 17 Library of Congress digital collections, including railroad maps, civil war maps, general maps, panoramic maps, and Sanborn maps. 

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) publishes topographic maps -- maps that show an area’s physical and cultural features at a particular time. Through the years, maps of specific areas have been updated.  Learn more about the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.

3 Ways to Find USGS Topographic Maps:

1) TopoView: Search for USGS topographic maps

2) The National Map Download Client:

3) Visit Us! Kemp Library has a USGS topographic maps collection for Pennsylvania (7.5 minute series quadrangle, 1:24,000 scale).  Come to the Circulation Desk and ask for help from a librarian.

A tutorial by USGS scientist and topoView developer Chris Garrity demonstrating how to use topoView version 2.1. TopoView let's you access and download maps free of charge from the USGS's Historical Topographic Map Collection, published between 1884 and 2006.

• CIA Maps 

Select a location and then choose a map type (i.e. administrative, physiography, transportation, etc.). Download a PDF or JPG. Available maps may vary by country. 

CIA Maps >> Selected Afghanistan.

• The World Factbook: 

Published by the CIA, The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

The World Factbook >> Selected Afghanistan

• U.S. Census Bureau: Explore Data

Geography Reference Maps include a variety of map types that show the boundaries and names of geographic areas for which the Census Bureau tabulates statistical data. In some cases, the name is only in the form of a geographic code, such as a census block number. Some types of reference maps include geographic features and their identifiers that are coincident with the boundary. Examples are roads and water features. Reference maps can include additional features such as railroads to aid users in orienting themselves to the area depicted on the map.

Search for aerial photographs:

• Use Penn Pilot to find Agricultural and Stabilization Conservation Series (ASCS) aerial photographs from 1946-81. You can download low, medium, and high resolution photographs.

Example: Search for East Stroudsburg. Select an era (time period) next to the search box. Then click on a red dot. View information and preview the photo on left side. Choose a resolution you want to download.

• Use USGS Earth Explorer for aerial photos from the National Aerial Photography Program (NAPP) and the National High-Altitude Photography (NHAP) collections.

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Maps:

U.S. Census Bureau Maps

Interactive Maps

Don't struggle...Ask a Librarian!

If you can't find the map you need, contact the library.