Skip to Main Content

History and Geography

Databases and Journals

For your History and Geography courses your projects may involve information from a wide variety of disciplines and subjects.  These might include elements of history, literature, cultural study, etc. What this means is that there are a wide range of databases that Kemp has available for you to use, depending on your project's focus.

When looking for articles these Kemp Library databases are usually the first place to look for articles. Depending on your topic, these may not be the only ones that can help you. 

Use the Search Strategy tab for finding books, articles, etc.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Sociological Collection
 

A full list of the databases we subscribe to. Pro Tip: use Ctl + F to open a search box on the webpage and use broad keywords to find databases that might meet your needs. Examples: bio or biology, social or sociology, etc.
 
Use to locate databases that match your topic.  Databases are the primary place to look for articles. *Notice that Academic Search Complete is listed in nearly every subject area. 
When in doubt about where to begin try Academic Search Complete, or any of the below interdisciplinary databases:

Google Scholar Search

If you're having trouble finding something specific, try Google Scholar.  If we don't have it and you can't access it on Google Scholar, you can always request it via interlibrary loan (see the "We Don't Have It?" tab).

If you find an article that you want to see if we have access to, you would look at the citation and lookup the journal.   Here you would search for IEEE Annals of the History of Computing, and if you find it in our holdings you would locate the volume (35, number 3) and look at pages 6-18.

Sample citation: Jesiek, Brent K. 2013. "The Origins and Early History of Computer Engineering in the United States." IEEE Annals Of The History Of Computing 35, no. 3: 6-18.

  • Author: Jesiek, Brent K,
  • Article Title: The Origins and Early History of Computer Engineering in the United States
  • Journal Title: IEEE Annals Of The History Of Computing
  • Volume: 35
  • Issue/Number: 3
  • Year of Publication: 2013
  • Pages: 6-18

Search for Journal Tiles in Primo.

There is no direct, comprehensive way to search by article title in our print collection or in our electronic collection (unless you know which database your article is located in - then you can search by article title).  Find the Journal Title your article appears in, and search this title in Primo.  This is a much faster and more efficient way for your to search for your article.