History and Geography

Dates: 1992 - Present.
Scroll down to browse by year or search GovInfo and limit to the collection.
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

GovInfo contains the Public Papers for Presidents Herbert Hoover (1929) through Barack H. Obama (2013). The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission.

Dates: 1995 - Present.
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers.
It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations.

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Search within the volumes, or browse volume titles by administration.

Current websites of U.S. federal government departments and agencies (from USA.gov).

Dates: 1935 - Current.
The U.S. Government Manual is the "official handbook" of the Federal Government. It describes agency activities and programs in the executive, judicial, and legislative branches of Government. Use it to see how the government was organized in a previous year.

Search current and past legislation and congressional documents.
Date coverage:
- Bills and resolutions introduced since 1973 (93rd Congress) with full text since 1993 (103rd Congress).
- Amendments introduced or submitted since 1981 (97th Congress).
- Full text of Laws since 1995 (104th Congress).

Dates: 1873 - 2015.
This is the permanent, bound version of the Congressional Record. The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. At the end of each session of Congress, all of the daily editions are collected, re-paginated, and re-indexed into a permanent, bound edition. The bound version is made up of one volume per session of Congress, with each volume published in multiple parts, each part containing approximately 10 to 20 days of Congressional proceedings.

Dates: 1994 - Present.
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. This site contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.

Dates: 1983 - Present.
The Congressional Record Index (CRI) serves as the index to the Congressional Record. When Congress is in session, the Joint Committee on Printing publishes the Congressional Record Index. In print, the Congressional Record Index contains both the index proper and the History of Bills and Resolutions. The History of Bills and Resolutions is a separate collection in govinfo.
The index proper lists individuals, organizations, and topics mentioned in the Congressional Record. Each CRI entry refers to a page number in the Congressional Record and the date of the daily issue in the format "S1234 [19JA]" (page 1234 in the Senate section from the January 19 issue for that year).

Browse through resources by conflict and time period.

A list of military history web resources from the National Archives.

Strategies on how to research military records from the National Archives. Select a specific branch of service or a specific war.

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Search within the volumes, or browse volume titles by administration.

While this official website is retired, the “Milestones in the History of U.S. Foreign Relations” provides a general overview of the history of U.S. engagement with the world through short essays on important moments, or milestones, in the diplomatic history of the United States. The publication is divided into 19 chapters covering time periods from 1750 until 2000, with brief introductions providing context for each period.

NARA resources and other links on diplomacy and foreign policy.