Kemp Library provides access to many subscription databases that will help with your research. On the A-Z Databases page we have included links to databases that are particularly helpful for health studies research, including those listed below. In the box at the top of the page are listed the "Best Bets" databases for this subject area - try these first.
We also recommend utilizing these categories in the A-Z Database list:
Following the "Best Bets" in each category are links to interdisciplinary and other databases you may find useful, including the following:
We also have databases arranged by other subjects and categories you may want to check out:
Free online databases:
PEDro -- The Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Kemp Library maintains subscriptions to a number of journals related to the study of health sciences. You can search for journals and journal articles through both the Primo Library Catalog and the A-Z Databases page. Below are direct links to some of the journals you might find especially useful for your research:
In addition to subscription journals, many high-quality open access journals in the field are freely available online. Good sources for finding open access journals and articles are Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), PLOS, and BioMed Central (BMC). You may also find the PLoS suite of journals useful - such as:
Here are direct links to a few of the open access journals you might find useful:
In addition to print books, Kemp Library also provides access to a collection of eBooks related to the study of communication sciences and disorders. To search for eBooks, go to the A-Z Databases page and select E-books under All Database Types. From this list, choose the database you would like to search. Two good ones to start with are Ebook Central and eBook Collection.
Links to some of the current titles in our collection are included below.
eBooks that you may find valuable:
Created by medical experts, the Merck Manual is one of the most widely used medical reference resources. The Professional Version contains detailed information on symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment in all fields of medicine for health care professionals and students.
These online book collections provide access to millions of free ebooks that might help you in your studies.
These websites are in no particular order but may help with research, job hunting, internship discovery, etc.
