Here is a direct link to the library's catalog Primo!
This will search for books and a majority of the library's electronic holdings (electronic articles, etc.)
For example: gentrification and race
treatment or intervention
abuse not drug
In Primo, the truncation symbol is a " * ".
For example: child* will find records with the following words: child, children, childhood, etc.
Keywords are words that appear somewhere in the book, article or record.
Subjects describe what that book, article or document is about.
Keyword searches can be broader or more specific, it can be confusing, but they're a good way to start finding things. Once you have found something using a keyword search you can look at all the information for that book and see what subject headings are used. Remember that the subject heading will probably give you a better idea as to what the book is really about. You can then look for similar books by clicking on those subject headings.
Most criminal justice books are located in the 300's on the 2nd floor of Kemp Library. Browse for books in:
You can also find CJ-related topics scattered throughout other sections such as Sociology (300's), Political Science (320's), Law (340's), and Public Administration (350's).
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Surveillance, Security, and Privacy by
Although surveillance hit the headlines with revelations by Edward Snowden that the NSA had been tracking phone calls worldwide, surveillance of citizens by their governments actually has been conducted for centuries. Only now, with the advent of modern technologies, it has exponentially evolved so that today you can barely step out your door without being watched or recorded in some way. In addition to the political and security surveillance unveiled by the Snowden revelations, think about corporate surveillance: each swipe of your ID card to enter your office is recorded, not to mention your internet activity. Or economic surveillance: what you buy online or with a credit card is recorded and your trip to the supermarket is videotaped. Drive through a tollbooth, and your license plate is recorded. Simply walk down a street and your image is recorded again and again and again. Where does this begin and end? In all levels of social structure, from the personal to the political to the economic to the judicial, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Surveillance, Security and Privacy uncovers and explains how surveillance has come to be an integral part of how our contemporary society operates worldwide and how it impacts our security and privacy.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Criminal Psychology by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Criminal Psychology will be a modern, interdisciplinary resource aimed at students and professionals interested in the intersection of psychology (e.g., social, forensic, clinical), criminal justice, sociology, and criminology. The interdisciplinary study of human behavior in legal contexts includes numerous topics on criminal behavior, criminal justice policies and legal process, crime detection and prevention, eyewitness identification, prison life, offender assessment and rehabilitation, risk assessment and management, offender mental health, community reintegration, and juvenile offending. The study of these topics has been increasing continually since the late 1800s, with people trained in many legal professions such as policing, social work, law, academia, mental health, and corrections. This will be a comprehensive work that will provide the most current empirical information on those topics of greatest concern to students who desire to work in these fields.
The SAGE Handbook of Domestic Violence by
The field of Domestic Violence research has expanded considerably in the past decade and now includes work conducted by researchers in many different disciplines, notably political science, public health, law, psychology, sociology, criminology, anthropology, family studies, and medicine. The SAGE Handbook of Domestic Violence provides a rich overview of the most important theoretical and empirical work in the field, organized by relationship type.