LibGuides: Criminal Justice Resources: Ethics in Criminal Justice

SOCJ 475 Ethics in Criminal Justice

Texas Legislature SB 11 History
Texas Penal Code (Tex. Penal Code § 46.03(a) and Tex. Penal Code § 46.03(f))
Too Many Candles: Milwaukee Gun Violence
Wisconsin Public Television (WPT) Documentary.
LA Times article on gun laws

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher is a source for original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist and provides an overview, pro-con debates, background and chronology, and assessment of the current situation.

Learn more about hot-button topics in the library database CQ Researcher.

Search by keyword or browse by topic to find reports:

Scroll down to the Chronology (i.e. timeline that refers laws and court cases):

CQ Researcher Guns on Campus Chronology

Find books, news articles and reports in the Bibliography section:

CQ Researcher Guns on Campus Bibliography

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains more than 560,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.

Criminal Justice Abstracts is a library database where you can find scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles on criminal justice topics.

Use the Advanced Search for multiple search boxes.

Separate different keyword concepts in search boxes. Example:

Criminal Justice Abstracts Search Boxes

Then narrow your results using the Refine Results column.

Narrow by: Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Articles, Publication Date, and select Academic Journals.

Criminal Justice Abstracts Refine Results column

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni offers a content collection of more than 15,000 news, legal, and business sources, offering a valuable tool to help college students with their academic research projects.

Nexis Uni is a library database where you can find law reviews & journals, news articles, court cases, statutes & legislation and more!

Use the Guided Search for Law Reviews, News, and Court Cases:

Nexis Uni Guided Search for Law Reviews

Narrow your results by publication date.

Example: I limited my search to law review articles published since 2017.

Use the Search With Results box to further focus on your topic.

Example: To find the articles that mention the Texas law, I searched SB 11.

Narrow your results options Narrow Your Nexis Uni Results

These two options narrowed my search results from 10,000+ to 170!

Legal Citations for Texas Legislation - from "The Greenbook"
Basic Legal Citation from the Legal Information Institution at Cornell University Law School
Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide
Purdue OWL: APA In-text Citations: The Basics
Purdue OWL: Reference List: Electronic Sources
Includes websites and scholarly journal articles with or without DOIs
Purdue OWL: APA Sample Paper

Do not trust citation generators like Citation Machine

ESU's Writing Studio

Visit the Writing Studio's website!

View the Writing Studio's helpful online resources and tutorials including:
- APA, ASA, MLA, and Chicago style guides.
- Sample title pages or papers.

Drop in the Writing Studio to work with a tutor (located on the 1st floor of Kemp Library).

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Circulation Desk 808.02 Am3513p7
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019-10-01