Economic Indicators
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic Report of the President
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government.
Budget of the United States
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Federal Reserve System:
Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District (a.k.a. "The Beige Book")
Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year by the Federal Reserve Bank, which "gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources."
FRASER Digital Library
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. FRASER began as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis in 2004 and now provides access to data and policy documents from the Federal Reserve System and many other institutions.
FRED
Economic data from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
U.S. Census Bureau - Economic Data:
Census Bureau Economic Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau programs that provide statistics about U.S. businesses and governments.
Economic Census
Every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau collects extensive statistics about businesses that are essential to understanding the American economy. This official count, better known as the Economic Census, serves as the foundation for the measurement of U.S. businesses and their economic impact.
County Business Patterns
CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.
U.S. Census Bureau - Demographics:
American FactFinder
Find popular facts about your community by using Community Facts. Enter a state, county, city, town, or zip code in the Community Facts text box, then click GO. The Community Facts page displays, showing you the population of the geography that you entered. Click on the subjects listed on the left side of the page (Age, Business and Industry, Education, etc.) to see other interesting information about your geography.
QuickFacts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Income & Poverty Data Tables
Stats displayed in columns and rows with title, ID, notes, sources, and release date. Many tables on census.gov are in downloadable XLS, CVS and PDF file formats.
How the Census Bureau Measures Poverty
Following the Office of Management and Budget's (OMB) Statistical Policy Directive 14, the Census Bureau uses a set of money income thresholds that vary by family size and composition to determine who is in poverty. If a family's total income is less than the family's threshold, then that family and every individual in it is considered in poverty.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA):
BEA's National Economic Statistics
BEA’s national economic statistics provide a comprehensive view of U.S. production, consumption, investment, exports and imports, and income and saving. These statistics are best known by summary measures such as gross domestic product (GDP), corporate profits, personal income and spending, and personal saving.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The "source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy," U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) produces some of the "world's most closely watched statistics, including: U.S. gross domestic product (GDP), state and local stats, and foreign trade and investments stats and industry data.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS):
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making.
BEA's International Economic Statistics
The international transactions accounts provide information on trade in goods and services (including the balance of payments and the balance of trade), investment income, and government and private financial flows. In addition, the accounts measure the value of U.S. international assets and liabilities and direct investment by multinational enterprises. BEA’s data on direct investment, the most detailed data set on the activities of multinational enterprises (MNEs) available, are used to assess the role these business enterprises play in the global economy.
United States International Trade Commission (USITC) DataWeb
The USITC DataWeb query tool provides U.S. international trade data statistics and querying capabilities to the public full-time and free of charge. These international trade data are available from 1989 to the present on a monthly, quarterly, annual, or year-to-date basis.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
UN Data
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) Regional Economic Statistics
The regional economic accounts tell us about the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth. The estimates of gross domestic product by state and state and local area personal income, and the accompanying detail, provide a consistent framework for analyzing and comparing individual state and local area economies.
BEA's State BEARFACTS
State BEARFACTS are based on the state estimates published on September 25, 2018 for personal income and May 4, 2018 for GDP by state.
PA Department of Labor and Industry - Center for Workforce Information and Analysis: County Profiles
County Profiles are a compilation of selected economic, geographic and demographic data for Pennsylvania's 67 counties. This statistical snapshot includes information in the following areas:
Map of Pennsylvania with the county highlighted
Population of the county (total, projected and age distribution)
Online Job Postings
Labor Force and unemployment rate
Personal income (per capita, total and median household)
Major employers by industry sector
Employment and wages by industry sector
Wages by major occupational group
