LibGuides: Government Documents at ESU: Military History

Military History Resources

Military Resources: Military History (National Archives)
Archives Library Information Center (ALIC)
Online Veterans and Military Documents, National Archives
While most of our holdings are not online, a variety of military records, from photos to documents to searchable databases are available.
Instances of Use of United States Armed Forces Abroad, 1798-2022
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Report with a timeline listing the "Notable Deployments of U.S. Military Forces Overseas".
Updated March 8, 2022
Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800.
National Archives link and description of the collection. War Department files destroyed by fire in 1800 have been reconstituted from archives nationwide and are now available in a fully searchable digital database.
Defense Primer: The Military Departments
CRS Report (In Focus), February 8, 2022
War Bibliographies LibGuide
Marine Corps University Research Library

Army Records at the National Archives
U.S. Army Center of Military History
Search Research by Conflict and Time Period
Army Publishing Directorate
"The Army Publishing Directorate (APD) is the Army’s centralized departmental publishing organization in support of readiness. APD authenticates, publishes, and provides the official Army index of all departmental publications and forms."
U.S. Army Heritage & Education Center (USAHEC)
"The Center is an integral part of the War College, and maintains the knowledge repositories that support scholarship and research about the U.S. Army and its operating environment" (The USAHEC Mission and Organization).
Guides & Bibliographies from the U.S. Army War College LibGuide
U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center
Relevant Statute: Title 10, U.S. Code, Chapter 303 – Department of the Army
Title 10 - ARMED FORCES
Subtitle B - Army
PART I - ORGANIZATION
CHAPTER 303 - DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

Journals/Magazines:

Parameters: The US Army War College Quarterly
Issues available online: v. 1, n. 1 (1971) to Present.
Parameters is a refereed journal "on the art and science of land warfare, joint and combined matters, national and international security affairs, military strategy, military leadership and management, military history, ethics, and other topics of significant and current interest to the US Army and the Department of Defense."
Military Intelligence Professional Bulletin, 1995 - 2021
MIPB "disseminates material designed to enhance individuals' knowledge of past, current, and emerging concepts, doctrine, material, training, and professional developments in the MI Corps."
Military Intelligence (MI) Professional Bulletin, 2015 - Present.
MI Professional Bulletin's new website that also features a podcast.

Department of the Navy Records, National Archives
Naval History and Heritage Command (NHHC) website
NHHC: Browse by Topic: Wars, Conflicts, and Operations
Select a war or conflict.
NHHC: Resources for Researchers
Explore online collections, research guides, and more.
Navy Ship Names: Background for Congress
CRS Report, October 7, 2022
Describes the process and rules of naming ships.
Relevant Statute: Title 10, U.S. Code, Subtitle C - Navy and Marine Corps
Title 10 - ARMED FORCES
Subtitle C - Navy and Marine Corps
CHAPTER 503—DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY
CHAPTER 506—HEADQUARTERS, MARINE CORPS

Marine Corps Records, National Archives
Frequently Requested Topics, Marine Corps History Division
Including famous quotes and historical documents, orders, and speeches.
Publications - Books by Topics, Marine Corps History Division
Chronologies of the Marine Corps, Marine Corps History Division
Marine Corps Medal of Honor Recipients, Marine Corps History Division
Brief Histories, Military Corps History Division
Marine Corps Topics of Interest LibGuide
Marine Corps University Research Library
Marine Corps Doctrinal Publications LibGuide
Marine Corps University Research Library
Relevant Statute: Title 10, U.S. Code, Subtitle C - Navy and Marine Corps
Title 10 - ARMED FORCES
Subtitle C - Navy and Marine Corps
CHAPTER 503—DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY
CHAPTER 506—HEADQUARTERS, MARINE CORPS

Journals/Magazines:

Fortitudine: Bulletin of the Marine Corps Historical Program
Online archived issues: vol. 2, no. 1 (Summer 1972) - vol. 38, no. 3 (2015).
Journal of Advanced Military Studies (JAMS), Marine Corps University Press
Online issues: vol. 11, no. 1 (Spring 2020) - Present.
"The Journal of Advanced Military Studies (JAMS) is an open access journal that offers a forum for open dialogue between scholars, policy makers, analysts, and military leaders and of crossing civilian-military boundaries to advance knowledge and solve problems."
Marine Corps University (MCU) Journal (name changed to JAMS)
Online issues: vol. 1, no. 1 (Spring 2010) - vol. 10, no. 2 (2019). Continues as JAMS (link above).

Air Force Records, National Archives
Defense Primer: The United States Air Force
CRS Report (In Focus), October 26, 2021
Air Force Next-Generation Air Dominance (NGAD) Program
CRS Report (In Focus), June 23, 2022
Relevant Statute: Title 10, U.S. Code, Subtitle D - Air Force and Space Force
Title 10 - ARMED FORCES
Subtitle D - Air Force and Space Force
CHAPTER 903—DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE
CHAPTER 908—THE SPACE FORCE

Coast Guard Records, National Archives
United States Coast Guard (USCG) Historian's Office
Bibliography of the U.S. Coast Guard History
United States Coast Guard (USCG) Historian's Office
Frequently Asked Questions
USCG Historian's Office
U.S. Coast Guard Historian's Office Library
PDFs of documents and e-books.

United States Space Force (USSF) website
FAQs - Space Force
Defense Primer: The United States Space Force
CRS Report (In Focus), January 11, 2022.
Relevant Statute: Title 10, U.S. Code, Subtitle D - Air Force and Space Force
Title 10 - ARMED FORCES
Subtitle D - Air Force and Space Force
CHAPTER 903—DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE
CHAPTER 908—THE SPACE FORCE

Featured Documents at Kemp Library

The United States Army and the COVID-19 Pandemic: January 2020-July 2021 by William M. Donnelly, Jamie L. H. Goodall.
Call Number: D 114.2:C 82, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2021

COVID-19 Pandemic, 2020- -- United States.
Military planning -- United States.
COVID-19 (Disease) -- Vaccination -- United States.
Between Desert Storm and Iraqi Freedom: U.S. Army operations in the Middle East, 1991-2001 by Jourden Travis Moger
Call Number: D 114.2:OP 2, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2021

United States. Army -- History -- 20th century.
Iraq -- History, Military -- 20th century.
Persian Gulf Region -- History, Military -- 20th century.
Deepening involvement 1945-1965 by Richard W. Stewart
Call Number: D 114.7/5-3:IN 8, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2012

Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- United States -- History.
Freedom by the Sword: The U.S. Colored Troops, 1862-1867 by William A. Dobak; Center of Military History (U.S. Army) Staff (Editor)
Call Number: D 114.19:SW 7, Government Documents Collection

ISBN: 9780160866951

Publication Date: 2011

United States. Army -- African American troops -- History -- 19th century.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Participation, African American.
History of the ammunition industrial base by Joint Munitions Command, JMC History Office
Call Number: D 101.2:AM 6/2010, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2010

Weapons industry -- United States.
Ammunition.
Production management -- United States.
Quarters One: the United States Army Chief of Staff's residence, Fort Myer, Virginia by William Gardner Bell
Call Number: D 114.2:Q 2/2011, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2011

Quarters One (Fort Myer, Va.).
United States. Army -- History.

History of acquisition in the Department of Defense by Elliott V. Converse III
Call Number: D 1.2:H 62/19/V.1, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2012

Volume 1: Rearming for the Cold War, 1945-1960.

United States. Department of Defense -- Procurement -- History -- 20th century
Weapons systems -- United States -- History -- 20th century.

U.S. Marines in Iraq, 2004-2005 : into the fray by Kenneth W. Estes
Call Number: D 214.511/4:IR 1/5, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2011

United States. Marine Corps -- History -- Iraq War, 2003-.
Fallujah, Battle of, Fallūjah, Iraq, 2004.
Iraq War, 2003-2011 -- Campaigns.
War on Terrorism, 2001-2009.
Najaf, Battle of, Najaf, Iraq, 2004.
The battle for Al-Qaim and the campaign to secure the western Euphrates river valley by Nicholas J. Schlosser
Call Number: D 214.13:AL 7, Government Documents Collection

ISBN: 9780160920882

Publication Date: 2013

United States. Marine Corps -- History -- 21st century.
Iraq War, 2003-2011.
War on Terrorism, 2001-2009.
The U.S. Marine Corps Mountain Warfare Training Center, 1951-2001 by Major General Orlo K. Steele, U.S. Marine Corps (Retired), Lieutenant Colonel Michael I. Moffett, U.S. Marine Corps Reserve (Retired).
Call Number: D 214.511/5:M 86/2, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2011

Marine Corps Mountain Warfare Training Center (Calif.) -- History.
Fort Fisher, December 1864-January 1865 by David W. Kummer
Call Number: D 214.13:F 77 F, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2012

United States. Marine Corps -- History -- 19th century.
Confederate States of America. Marine Corps -- History.
Fort Fisher (N.C. : Fort) -- Siege, 1864-1865.
North Carolina -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Campaigns.

Talking about Naval History: A Collection of Essays by John B. Hattendorf
Call Number: D 208.210:19, Government Documents Collection

ISBN: 9781884733741

Publication Date: 2011

United States. Navy -- History.
Naval history.
Fundamentals of War Gaming, 3rd ed. by Francis J. McHugh
Call Number: D 208.202:G 14, Government Documents Collection

ISBN: 9781935352006

Publication Date: 2012

Naval War College (U.S.).
War games.
Tactics.
Military art and science.
New interpretations in naval history: selected papers from the sixteenth Naval History Symposium held at the United States Naval Academy, 10-11 September 2009 by Craig C. Felker and Marcus O. Jones
Call Number: D 208.210:N 22/2009, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2012

Naval art and science -- History -- Congresses.
Naval history -- Congresses.

A century of honor: a commemorative guide to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier by Arlington National Cemetery History Office
Call Number: D 114.12:T 59, Government Documents Collection

Publication Date: 2021

Arlington National Cemetery (Arlington, Va.) -- Centennial celebrations, etc. -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Tomb of the Unknowns (Va.) -- History -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Honoring heroes : memorializing our nation’s veterans : hearing before the Subcommittee on Disability Assistance and Memorial Affairs of the Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, U.S. House of Representatives, One Hundred Fifteenth Congress, second session, Thu by United States. Congress. House. Committee on Veterans’ Affairs. Subcommittee on Disability Assistance and Memorial Affairs.
Call Number: Online Government Document

Publication Date: 2019

Soldiers’ monuments -- Law and legislation -- United States.
War memorials -- Law and legislation -- United States.