Social Work Resources

Search Like A Pro!

Use the Advanced Search:

• Building a search in the Advanced Search screen gives you more flexibility.

In EBSCO databases, click on the Advanced Search link below the basic search box:

Now you'll have more search boxes and advanced options to utilize:

Don't know what keywords to search? 

Search the Subject Headings to find the proper terms: 

• You can make use of the Subject Headings option (on the top left navigation bar) to find appropriate subject headings for your topic and use them in a search.

Depending on the EBSCO database, the subject heading function may be called Subjects, Subject Terms, or Thesaurus. 

Not getting many results? 

Try using broader search terms:

• If you're having trouble finding information, try broadening your scope a little by using a more general keyword.

Example:  If you're researching grandparents raising their grandchildren, then using SocINDEX you could get very different number of results depending on your broad and narrow keywords.

Custodial grandparents: 75 results

Grandparent caregiver: 111 results

Grandparenting: 258 results 

Grandparent and child: 1,739 results

Or do not limit to Full Text only:

• Full Text access is nearly instant and amazing!  But by limiting to full-text only, you may be missing out on the abstract for the perfect article on your topic.  Don't overlook articles from journals we do not subscribe to because you can always request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). The turn around time is pretty quick (2-3 business days on average), but don't wait until the last minute. Find your resources ahead of time and make sure you have them...then procrastinate.  

Search Multiple Databases at Once!

1) Navigate to any EBSCO database (i.e. SocINDEX, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Gender Studies, etc.)

2) Before you search, click on "Choose Databases" above the search box. 

You will see a pop-up box containing all of the library's EBSCO databases.  

Tip: Hover above the  icon to the right of the database name to read a description of that database. 

3) Browse through the database list and check off the databases you want to search simultaneously. Click OK. 

Now you can search multiple databases at once!

If your topic is multidisciplinary, you can search across subjects by adding other databases such as:

Sociological Index

PsycARTICLES

Business Source Complete

Communication Source

Education Source

Political Science Complete

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

and many more!

Check out our News Source databases. Please note that The New York Times has the most access through the database Nexis Uni. The Wall Street Journal and Washington Post can both also be accessed through Nexis Uni.  Watch this first minute of this video to see how to search just The New York Times (or any relevant publication) in Nexis Uni:

There are also three link to tip sheets and FAQs for additional Nexis Uni search help, and more video tutorials in the Databases Video Tutorials tab on the left.

Additional publications, such as Time Magazine,  can be found in Ebsco databases. You can look at the publications available in any EBSCO database by opening a database, going to the top menu and clicking "Publications" and searching for the title you want. Academic Search Complete and Newspaper Source are good databases to look at for current publications.

We also have archives for:

• Life Magazine
• Forbes
• Fortune Magazine
• People
• Sports Illustrated
• Time

These databases are available when searching in EBSCO. Select "choose databases" above the search bar, then select these databases to search.