Skip to Main Content

Thesis and Dissertation Guide

Where do you start with your thesis/dissertation? Here's a reference point.

ESU Dissertations

ESU Theses and Dissertations must be submitted to and approved by the Graduate College.

  • Do not submit it directly to the ESU Institutional Repository.   

  • Email theses@esu.edu if you have any questions about the dissertation approval process.

 

After your dissertation is officially approved, the Graduate College will provide you with the following:

 

1. Instructions for uploading your approved dissertation to ProQuest ETD Administrator. 

In ProQuest ETD, students can decide between two publishing options:

  • Traditional Publishing: No fee, a 25-page preview (no full text of the complete dissertation).
  • Open Access Publishing PLUS service: $95 fee, the full text will be available online.

 

2.  Kemp Library's Rights and Permission Form to post the dissertation online in the ESU Institutional Repository. 

 

Note: To avoid fees, students may choose traditional publishing in ProQuest ETD and still make their dissertation freely accessible in full text through the ESU Institutional Repository.

Search the PQDT Global database for ESU Dissertations:

1.  If you have an ESU username and password, then you should use the link above to access the library database ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global. 

2. In the Advanced Search, scroll down to the University/Institution box and type in East Stroudsburg University.  Then click Search. 

3.  Use the left side bar to narrow by date or browse by Subject or Index Terms. 

 

Tips:

  • Online availability: 2017 to Present. 
  • To find an ESU dissertation by the author's name, type the author's last name in the Author box while you're in the Advanced Search. 

Example: Rodriguez in the Author field and East Stroudsburg University in the University/Institution field. 

Advanced Search with Author's Last Name and University/Institution in PQDT Global

Results for Author Last Name and University/Institution Search Example

 

If you do not have an ESU login, you can use ProQuest Open Access Dissertations and Theses. This is a freely accessible ProQuest website and you will be able to view the Abstracts and 25-page preview of ESU dissertations. If the author selected the Open Access publication option when submitting their dissertation, then the full text will be freely available.  

 

In Fall 2024, ESU dissertations will also become freely accessible through the ESU Institutional Repository (ESU IR).  Students may chose between immediate full text access or an embargo (delay full text access for 6 months to 3 years). Doctoral students who select immediate full text access will have their dissertations added online.  For students who select an embargo, the full text will be added after the embargo period ends.