Skip to main content

Communication Sciences and Disorders

A useful guide for when you have to do research in the field of speech language pathology

Everything Else

We subscribe to several newspapers.

Individual Paper Subscriptions:

You can view some specific subscriptions like The New York Times, Regional Business News, and the Chronicle of Higher Education under "News Sources" on our Databases page.

NexisUni:

You can also view newspapers like The Washington Post in the database NexisUni. You can search all news sources on a topic or search in a specific location like The Washington Post. Please watch the video tutorials for NexisUni on the Video Tutorials tab to the left. You can view all the sources in NexisUni by selecting "menu" on the top left of the screen and then "all sources". You may view this in the GIF below.

For background on your topic we recommend starting with these resources:

  • CQ Researcher: this database has reports on many current issues. This resource provides a way to browse by topic and has an issue tracker, making it easy to find your policy area and see relevant material. You can also search by keyword, but use broad keywords to start. It provides reports from 1991-present. When looking at results, be sure to check the date of the report. These reports have several components, including a bibliography/footnotes so you can check their citations (check out the tab Advanced Search Strategies – Citation Chasing as to how this can help you). Overall they provide an in depth look into an issue and attempt to present multiple perspectives, however these reports are not usually scholarly. Check out the Video Tutorials tab for more.
  • NexisUni: You may be more familiar with “LexisNexis” – Nexis Uni is the new interface and this version is specifically for university research. Use it like an EBSCO database with the simple or advanced search, or use the guided search (both available on the home page). Legal news, court cases, and law journals are all located here (and so are many newspapers). Check out the Video Tutorials tab for more on how to search, as well as the Newspapers tab in this box for more tips on NexisUni.
  • Legal Collection: This database can be searched with Academic Search Complete (and other EBSCO databases) - look here for news and articles on your topic.
  • Academic Search Ultimate: This database can be searched with Legal Collection (and other EBSCO databases) - look here for news and articles on your topic.
  • Oyez is a fantastic resource if you have to read court cases relating to the United States Supreme Court, but don't know how to read court cases... because they are confusing. Think of it as CliffNotes.  The site also links to LII's and the Justia Supreme Court Center's website. 

    “Oyez (pronounced OH-yay)—a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia). Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices.” - Taken from Oyez's About page. 


To find information on court cases or statutes and legislation, use NexisUni.

You can find more information about statutes and legislation at Congress.gov which is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. This is a great source for looking at a specific piece of legislation, or to look for legislation by subject or policy area. There's a helpful video in Video Tutorials.

CRS Reports may help you learn more on your topic. These are reports prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) which is a nonpartisan group that prepares documents for Congress to understand an issue that is up for discussion/legislation. When looking at results, be sure to check the date of the report. Read the summary and table of contents to evaluate its use for you. Use broad keywords to start. This is a fantastic resource and you can also see previous versions of your report if they exist.

Here's a refresher on the American legislative process.

For statistical data you may wish to consider: