Skip to main content

Communication Sciences and Disorders

A useful guide for when you have to do research in the field of speech language pathology

Resources

Kemp Library provides access to many subscription databases that will help with your research. On the A-Z Databases page we have included links to databases that are particularly helpful for Communication Sciences and Disorders majors, including those listed below. In the box at the top of the page are listed the "Best Bets" databases for this subject area - try these first.

Following the "Best Bets" are links to interdisciplinary and other databases you may find useful, including the following:

We also have databases arranged by other subjects and categories you may want to check out:

View the short tutorial below for helpful tips on searching within EBSCO databases.

Kemp Library maintains subscriptions to a number of journals related to the study of communication sciences and disorders. You can search for journals and journal articles through both the Primo Library Catalog and the A-Z Databases page. Below are direct links to some of the journals you might find especially useful for your research:

In addition to subscription journals, many high-quality open access journals in the field are freely available online. Good sources for finding open access journals and articles are Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), PLOS, and BioMed Central (BMC). Here are direct links to a few of the open access journals you might find useful:

Kemp Library maintains a collection of print books relevant to the study of communication sciences and disorders. Links to a few current titles in this subject area are included below, but here are some tips for finding additional titles.

Call Numbers
The print collection is organized using Dewey Decimal Classification. Find many books related to communication sciences and disorders using the following call numbers:

  • 616.85 for Medicine & health -- Communication disorders
  • 617.8 for Medicine & health -- Otology and audiology
  • 618.92 for Medicine & health -- Pediatric audiology
  • 618.97 for Medicine & health -- Geriatric audiology
  • 371.91 for Education -- Students with linguistic disorders
  • 302.2/.24 for Verbal Communication
  • 401 for Language -- Philosophy and theory, including language acquisition, speech perception, and psycholinguistics
  • 410 for Linguistics
  • 414 for Linguistics -- Phonology and phonetics
  • 418 for Applied Linguistics
  • 808.52 for Rhetoric -- Technique of oral expression

Books with these call numbers are all located on the top floor of Kemp Library. See our Library Map for a detailed guide to navigating the stacks, or ask a library staff member for assistance.

Subject Headings
A subject heading is a word or phrase used to describe content or subject matter. Subject headings are uniform vocabulary and follow a classification system and structure. Because subject headings are applied to an item by cataloging experts, they are a useful way to find items on your topic.

Search the Primo Library Catalog for books on communication sciences and disorders using one or more of these suggested subject headings:

  • Communicative disorders
  • Speech disorders
  • Language disorders
  • Hearing disorders
  • Speech therapy
  • Aphasia
  • Audiology
  • Phonetics
  • Psycholinguistics
  • Communication
  • Neurology

Once you have identified a book of interest within the catalog, you can also click on the subjects listed within that record for more books in the same category, as well as virtually browse the shelf for adjacent titles.

Current Titles
These are a few examples of books that are currently available in Kemp Library. Use the tips above to search or browse for additional titles.

In addition to print books, Kemp Library also provides access to a collection of eBooks related to the study of communication sciences and disorders. To search for eBooks, go to the A-Z Databases page and select E-books under All Database Types. From this list, choose the database you would like to search. Two good ones to start with are Ebook Central and eBook Collection

Here's a link to a free ebook of Henry Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body

Links to some of the current titles in our collection are included below.

Check out the following web resources for additional helpful information related to the subject of communication sciences and disorders.

American Academy of Audiology
The American Academy of Audiology is the world's largest professional organization of, by, and for audiologists. The membership is dedicated to providing quality hearing care services through professional development, education, research, and increased public awareness of hearing and balance disorders.

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
ASHA is the national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for members and affiliates who are audiologists; speech-language pathologists; speech, language, and hearing scientists; audiology and speech-language pathology support personnel; and students.

Anatomy Atlases

An anatomy digital library.

Anatomy Expert

anatomyEXPERT has already gained tons of traction thanks to it’s enormous library of anatomy media and information. They have tons of features like the ability to label content right on the image, printing structure images with information to study, rating the images so the most popular ones appear first, commenting on structures and more.

Apraxia Kids
Apraxia Kids is a comprehensive and trusted website for information on childhood apraxia of speech and children's speech and language topics - including evaluation, speech therapy, research and other childhood communication topics.

eSkeletons

Play with virutal skeletons... human, animal, what have you. This is more fun than it should be. 

Health Videos from Medline

These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.

Human Body Maps from Healthline

Just what they sound like. Divided by area.

Merck Manual (Professional Version)
Created by medical experts, the Merck Manual is one of the most widely used medical reference resources. The Professional Version contains detailed information on symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment in all fields of medicine for health care professionals and students.

National Aphasia Association (NAA)
The (NAA) is an organization with the goal to provide access to research, education, rehabilitation, therapeutic and advocacy services to individuals with aphasia and their caregivers.

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
Part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the NIDCD conducts and supports research in the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language.

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
Part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the NINDS aims to seek fundamental knowledge about the brain and nervous system and to use that knowledge to reduce the burden of neurological disease.

National Stuttering Association (NSA)
The National Stuttering Association (NSA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to bringing hope and empowerment to children and adults who stutter, their families, and professionals, through support, education, advocacy, and research.

Pennsylvania Speech-Language-Hearing Association (PSHA)
The PSHA is a professional organization of speech-language pathologists, audiologists and teachers of the hearing impaired. It serves as a liaison between the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association and its Pennsylvania members.

The Stuttering Foundation
The Stuttering Foundation dedicates itself to the goal of providing the best and most up-to-date information and help available for the prevention of stuttering in young children and the most effective treatment available for teenagers and adults.

Visible Human Project

From the NIH, view the interior of a human in several different ways.