LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Free Continuing Education (CE) Resources

Free Continuing Education (CE) Resources

First, review the instructions and video tutorial here:

Then login to CINAHL Complete below. Go to the "Advanced Search" options and select "CE Module" to browse subjects:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nearly 1,400 nursing & allied health journals. The database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Continuing Education modules through the Nursing Reference Center Plus database.

Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus provides staff nurses and nurse educators with a resource that supports education goals, encourages residents and students to access the original research, and provides options for patient care while preserving and supporting the essential learning opportunities that educators want to provide.

Training and Continuing Education Online (TCEO), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC’s Training and Continuing Education Online (TCEO) is a system that provides the public health and healthcare workforce access to CDC educational activities that offer free continuing education (CE) credits, contact hours, or units. Use TCEO to search for CE opportunities, complete course evaluations and posttests, obtain your CE certificates, and manage your CDC CE transcript.
AHRQ-Sponsored Continuing Education Activities, Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)
Free quality-related modules from AHRQ.

Free CE Nurse Activities, American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN)
Several free activities available and hundreds more if you have a personal AACN membership.
Top 15 Free Online Continuing Education Units for Nurses, Nurse.org
A list of 15 free online CEU courses from Nurse.org.
HOWEVER, YOU SHOULD READ THE FINE PRINT. Some courses are ONLY free if you agree to provide demographic data to a company.