Business Source Complete contains some industry reports, and a large collection of business focused peer-reviewed journals, magazines, trade publications, and news resources that often contain information on specific markets.
You can narrow by Source Type including:
1) Click on Business Source Complete (link above) and type one or two basic keywords about your industry into the search box.
2) Use the Refine Results column on the left and scroll down to Source Type. Click on the blue "Show More" link to see all the Source Type categories.
3) Select one category at a time such as Market Research Reports, Industry Profiles, or SWOT Analyses and click Update.
Use this database to learn more about industries including industry overviews, forecasts, business challenges, trends and opportunities, and call prep questions.
Note: You will have multiple screens that you need to click through to access this database. Click on Continue, then Continue, and finally Submit. Go to the Find Industry Information page on the Business LibGuide for screenshots and detailed instructions.
Sample Industry Overview:
NAICS (pronounced Nakes) codes help classify and measure industry activity. NAICS replaced the SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) system in 1997. Knowing the code for your industry will help you find reports, articles, and other information on that industry.
For more information, see NAICS Frequently Asked Questions.
NAICS replaced the SIC in 1997. The SIC Manual is available online through the U.S. Department of Labor. While SIC was last updated in 1987, organizations and state and local agencies may continue to use the SIC for their own purposes, but these non-statistical uses are outside the scope of the Federal economic statistical programs.
Use Mergent Online (link above) to search for company information.
1) In the basic Company Search box, type in the company symbol or name and click Go.
2) Click on the correct company in the results list. Tip: Get only 1 result if you search by symbol.
3) You'll see the Company Details page and can click on the tabs for more information.
4) You can download each tab individually or get a longer report by clicking on the Reports tab and then Mergent Reports.
5) Choose the type of Predefined Reports on the left and then select a format on the right.
For finding company information in other library databases, see the Find Company Information page on the Business LibGuide.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys: provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. Data is collected by the Census Bureau for BLS in two surveys: the Interview Survey for major and/or recurring items and the Diary Survey for more minor or frequently purchased items.
Pew Research Center: Social & Demographic Trends: Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI): The ACSI measures consumer satisfaction with more than 200 companies in 43 industries plus the federal government. Find specifics under Industries for more information.
ESRI Tapestry Segmentation: This freely available interactive mapping website allows you to search for brief synopses of the lifestyle choices of those who make up specific zip codes or neighborhoods.
American Census Data: Primary way to access Census Bureau data, including releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. Use data.census.gov to view, print, and download statistics about population, housing, industry, and business.
U.S. Census' Quick Facts: QuickFacts provides easy access quick demographics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.
The World Factbook: This C.I.A website contains profiles for all of the nations around the world, including demographic profiles and statistics. It has detailed descriptions and demographic information for each country are presented to user, such as: Population, Median Age, Urbanization, Economy, and Government.