Click through the following tabs above for help on navigating and troubleshoot your scavenger hunt questions.
First, choose a topic of sociological significance (e.g. a social problem like gangs, domestic violence, poverty, etc., or a social trend like body piercing, the popularity of a particular kind of entertainment or sport, etc.)
Tip 1: Before searching in the databases, break your topic down into keywords or concepts. Think about possible synonyms for those words and phrases. Many searches may work with a single key concept, but you could often use two or more keywords.
Tip 2: Start broadly and narrow down as you go. Your first searches will give you a feel for what kind of information is available.
1) Go to JSTOR using the link above or click "J" on the Kemp Library Database webpage to find the JSTOR link:
2) Click on Advanced Search located under the search box.
3) Type in 1 or 2 keywords and then scroll down to see more options.
4) Narrow by Articles and type in 1995 in the first publication date box. Now you are ready to click Search.
5) Browse the results and select an article. Click on the Download PDF button.
6) Accept the JSTOR terms and conditions pop-up to download to the PDF.
7) Save/Capture/Print out the 2nd page of the PDF, which is the first page of the article. JSTOR adds a cover page with the citation information.
1) Click the link above or from the Kemp Library website, click on Databases (second link on the right).
2) Use the first dropdown box to select Sociology databases. Then use the next dropdown box to limit to databases with Articles & Journals. This will eliminate e-book, reference, and government document databases.
3) Browse the database list and select databases that could work with your particular topic.
Examples: Domestic violence: try searching Gender Studies Database and Sociological Collection.
Gangs: try searching Criminal Justice Abstracts and Sociological Collection.
Note: You can use more than one EBSCO database. EBSCO is a company and we subscribe to many databases through EBSCO.
4) Type in a keyword(s) and click on Advanced Search.
5) Scroll down to limit your results as needed.
Example, I selected scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, entered a publication date range, selected Academic Journal under publication type and Article as the document type.
After selecting your limits, click Search.
6) If you have too many results, use the Refine Results column on the left.
Scroll down to Subject and click on Show More. This will open a pop-up box with more subject options.
Check off 1 or more topics and click Update.
7) Browse the results and select an article on your topic. Click on the article title to go to the article record.
8) On the right side, click on the Cite. Most databases have a citation generator.
Choose your citation style (i.e. APA, MLA, etc.) from the list. Copy and paste it into a Word doc or click on the Email icon to email yourself the record.
Always double check all database generated citations! You will find errors.
Go to the Citations page on the left side of this LibGuide for more advice about citations.
9) Click on the PDF Full-Text icon to open up the article.
10) You only need to attach the first page of the article. Capture the page (with either take a screenshot or the snipping tool).
11) Choose a second database and repeat these steps, changing the publication date range to 2005 to current.
1. Go to Primo Library Catalog (the first link located on the right side of Kemp Library’s homepage).
2. Click on the Advanced Search button located to the right of the search box. You’ll now see two search boxes instead of one.
3. Change the following fields:
4. Type in the Faculty Members name: Last Name, First Name
Check the name spelling on the Sociology, Social Work & Criminal Justice Faculty website.
5. You may get multiple results for that name, but it might be someone else with the same name.
If you're unsure, use the "Tweak my results" column on the right side. You can either narrow by Author/Creator or by Subject:
6. If you’re not sure which article is written by our faculty members, go back to the Advanced Search boxes and use
the second search box in the Advanced Search.
Type in East Stroudsburg in the second search box to make sure it’s the right person.
However, this will exclude any articles they wrote before coming to ESU. It also means you’ll get less results.
7. You may find some link errors in Primo. When looking at results, select the EBSCOhost database full text option when available.
Contact a librarian if you need more help!
