LibGuides: Sociology Resources: Find Articles

Finding Articles

Best Bets for Sociology, Social Work & Criminal Justice:

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text: This database provides coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Some of the topics covered include crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, punishment & sentencing, and more. Abstracts are included. Coverage begins in 1968.
PsycArticles PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full text articles on current issues in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 34,000 searchable full text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 51 journals. Examples of titles offered in PsycARTICLES include: American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychotherapy: Theory/Research/Practice/Training, etc. Coverage spans from 1987 to the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 550 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO. All full text publications included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
SocINDEX SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Sociological Collection The Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 525 journals in the collection.

Very Useful Interdisciplinary Databases:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate offers students a collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually all academic disciplines.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source is a comprehensive resource for communication research. The database offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Education Source This link opens in a new window Education Source provides indexing and abstracts for over 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for over 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles, and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window Gender Studies Database covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available, including professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, discussion and working papers, and theses & dissertations. Links also provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes over 921,000 records with coverage from 1972 to the present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names, as well as Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary .
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni offers a content collection of more than 15,000 news, legal, and business sources, offering a valuable tool to help college students with their academic research projects.

View all of Kemp Library's databases on the Databases A-Z List.

Building a search in the "Advanced Search" screen gives you more flexibility.

In EBSCO databases, click on the Advanced Search link below the basic search box:

Now you'll have more search boxes and advanced options to utilize:

Advanced Search options

You can make use of the Subject Headings option (on the top left navigation bar) to find appropriate subject headings for your topic and use them in a search.

Depending on the EBSCO database, the subject heading function may be called Subjects, Subject Terms, or Thesaurus.

If you're having trouble finding information, try broadening your scope a little by using a more general keyword.

Example: If you're researching grandparents raising their grandchildren, then using SocINDEX you could get very different number of results depending on your broad and narrow keywords.

Custodial grandparents: 75 results

Grandparent caregiver: 111 results

Grandparenting: 258 results

Grandparent and child: 1,739 results

Don't limit your search results to Full Text! You want the best information for your topic and that may not be something that is full text. You can always request an article that we don't have through our Interlibrary Loan service. Turn around time is pretty quick, but don't wait until the last minute or you may be disappointed!

Search Multiple Databases at Once!

1) Navigate to any EBSCO database (i.e. Criminal Justice Abstracts, SocINDEX, Gender Studies, etc.)

2) Before you search, click on "Choose Databases" above the search box.

You will see a pop-up box containing all of the library's EBSCO databases.

Tip: Hover above the icon to the right of the database name to read a description of that database.

3) Browse through the database list and check off the databases you want to search simultaneously. Click OK.

Now you can search multiple databases at once!

If your topic is multidisciplinary, you can search across subjects by adding other databases such as:

Business Source Complete

Communication Source

Education Source

Political Science Complete

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

PsycARTICLES

and many more!

Social Work Reference Center
Social Work Reference Center (SWRC) is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide current evidence-based information to social workers and mental health professionals directly at the point-of-care.

Not sure about your topic?

Go to the Social Work Reference Center database and browse trending topics:

Trending topics, Social Work Research Center