Here is a direct link to the library's catalog Primo!
This will search for books and a majority of the library's electronic holdings (electronic articles, etc.)
For example: gentrification and race
treatment or intervention
abuse not drug
In Primo, the truncation symbol is a " * ".
For example: child* will find records with the following words: child, children, childhood, etc.
Keywords are words that appear somewhere in the book, article or record.
Subjects describe what that book, article or document is about.
Keyword searches can be broader or more specific, it can be confusing, but they're a good way to start finding things. Once you have found something using a keyword search you can look at all the information for that book and see what subject headings are used. Remember that the subject heading will probably give you a better idea as to what the book is really about. You can then look for similar books by clicking on those subject headings.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory by
This two-volume set is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime by
The Encyclopedia of Race and Crime covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice. These two volumes offer a greater appreciation for the similar historical experiences of varied racial and ethnic groups and illustrate how race and ethnicity has mattered and continues to matter in the administration of American criminal justice.
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention by
The victimology–crime prevention nexus provides the foundation for a comprehensive and, hopefully, long-lasting approach to addressing the public’s risk of being victimized and aids individuals who are targeted by a criminal act.
Encyclopedia of Social Networks by
This two-volume encyclopedia provides a thorough introduction to the wide-ranging, fast-developing field of social networking, a much-needed resource at a time when new social networks or “communities” seem to spring up on the internet every day. This reference resource offers comprehensive coverage of the theory and research within the social sciences that has sprung from the analysis of such groupings, with accompanying definitions, measures, and research.Featuring approximately 350 signed entries, along with approximately 40 media clips, organized alphabetically and offering cross-references and suggestions for further readings, this encyclopedia opens with a thematic Reader’s Guide in the front that groups related entries by topics.
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society by
The Encyclopedia of Play in Today’s Society explores the concept of play in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. Its scope encompasses leisure and recreational activities of children and adults throughout the ages, from dice games in the Roman Empire to video games today. With more than 450 entries, these two volumes do not include coverage of professional sports and sport teams but, instead, cover the hundreds of games played not to earn a living but as informal activity. All aspects of play—from learning to competition, mastery of nature, socialization, and cooperation—are included.
American Masculinities by
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia is a first-of-its-kind reference, detailing developments in the growing field of men’s studies. This up-to-date analytical review serves as a marker of how the field has evolved over the last decade, especially since the 1993 publication of Anthony Rotundo’s American Manhood. This seminal book opened new vistas for exploration and research into American History, society, and culture.
Need a book we don't have?
First try EZ-Borrow. After logging in with your E-Card number, you can search for and request a book. Pay attention to whether or not the book is really available and be sure to jot down the book request number after you submit your request. Turn around is about 5 days. We'll notify you by email when the book is ready to be picked-up at the library
For books not available through EZ-Borrow, request the item through ILLIAD. Be sure to select the book form.