Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy and Religious Studies

Resources

On our Database page we've listed some databases that are particularly helpful for Religion majors - including the Religion and Philosophy Collection.  You'll notice that on top we have "best bet" databases for you - try these first.

We also have databases arranged by other subjects and categories you may want to check out:

On the other tabs in this box, you'll find additional resources to help you locate materials both in the physical library and online.

Kemp Library maintains subscriptions to a number of journals related to the study of religion. You can search for journals and journal articles through both the Primo Library Catalog and the A-Z Databases page. Below are direct links to some of the journals you might find especially useful for your research:

 

In addition to subscription journals, many high-quality open access journals in the field are freely available online. A goood sources for finding open access journals and articles is the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). You can also check out these highly rated open access journals from Scimago's Journal RankingsHere are direct links to a few of the open access journals you might find useful:

If you notice your results all have similar call numbers, browse the section to see if any of our other books might help you.  Below are the Philosophy and Religion numbers, they are all on the ground floor (with the cow).

Religion:

200s - Religion

210s - Philosophy and Theory of Religion

220s - The Bible

230s - Christianity

240s - Christian Practice and Observance

250s - Christian Orders and Local Church

260s - Social and Ecclesiastical Theology

270s - History of Christianity

280s - Christian Denominations

290s - Other Religions

For more information on call numbers you can look at this LibGuide.

If you're having trouble locating an item, please refer to the Library Map LibGuide or ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk.

Below are several versions of the Bible. Three are ebooks available as ebooks through the library and two are searchable website versions of the Bible. 

If you're interested in learning more on the parts of the Bible, check out BBC's website on it.

There are several available versions of the Qur'an.  Many of them listed also have an audio component so you can listen to the translation (or original Arabic) as you read! Those found with audio components are mentioned in the link descriptions.

The Tao Te Ching or Daodejing or Dao De Jing (depending on the translator) is one of the primary Chinese texts for Taoism. It was written by Laozi (also Westernized to Lao Tzu or Lao Tze) who probably lived during the 4th or 5th century BC.