Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources (OER)

An informative guide on what OER are and what services we offer to support your adoption of OER.

Biological Sciences

Biofundamentals 2.0 by Michael Klymkowsky and Melanie Cooper

Biofundamentals 2.0 covers the key observations and unifying concepts upon which modern biology is based. Once understood, these foundational observations and concepts should enable students to approach any biological process, from disease to kindness, from a scientific perspective. (Source: Open Textbook Library)

 

 

Biology 2e by Mary Ann Clark, Jung Choi, and Matthew Douglas

Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts. (Source: OpenStax)

 

Concepts of Biology by Samantha Fowler, Rebecca Roush, and James Wise

Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy. (Source: OpenStax)

 

Microbiology by Nina Parker, Mark Schneegurt, Anh-Hue Thi Tu, Brian M. Forster, Philip Lister

Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs. (Source: OpenStax)

BIO101: Introduction to Molecular and Cellular Biology
Saylor Academy
This course includes a detailed introduction to molecular biology, including proteins, carbohydrates, lipids, and nucleic acids; water; and other compounds that make up the cell. Particular emphasis is placed on the cell membrane, mitosis and meiosis, genetics and gene expression, transcription and translation, and cellular metabolism.

 

Biology 1520: Introduction to Organismal Biology
GALILEO Open Learning Materials
This course provides an introduction to biology at the organ and organismal levels, with emphasis on physiological processes and integration of growth and development. Topics covered include biodiversity, growth and reproduction, chemical and electrical signals, and nutrition, transport, and homeostasis.

 

Introduction to Biology
Carnegie Mellon University Open Learning Initiative
This introductory course defines biology and its relationship to other sciences. It examines the overarching theories of life from biological research and also explores the fundamental concepts and principles of the study of living organisms and their interaction with the environment. 

 

Modern Biology
Carnegie Mellon University Open Learning Initiative
This course covers specialized and somewhat advanced topics in the fields of cellular biology, molecular biology, biochemistry, and genetics. It does not cover organismal biology or taxonomy. The course is carefully planned to provide the background that biology students will need for advanced biology classes. Non-biology majors will also find this course useful as it explains many of the concepts and techniques currently discussed in the popular press.

Loading ...