Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources (OER)

An informative guide on what OER are and what services we offer to support your adoption of OER.

Physics

Astronomy by Andrew Fraknoi, David Morrison, and Sidney C. Wolff

Astronomy is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of one- or two-semester introductory astronomy courses. The book begins with relevant scientific fundamentals and progresses through an exploration of the solar system, stars, galaxies, and cosmology. The textbook builds student understanding through the use of relevant analogies, clear and non-technical explanations, and rich illustrations. (Source: OpenStax)

 

College Physics by Paul Peter Urone and Roger Hinrichs

College Physics meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts. It requires knowledge of algebra and some trigonometry, but not calculus. College Physics includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities for traditional physics application problems. (Source: OpenStax)

 

University Physics, Volume 1 by William Moebs, Samuel J. Ling, and Jeff Sanny

University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. This textbook emphasizes connections between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result. (Source: OpenStax)

 

University Physics, Volume 2 by Samuel J. Ling, William Moebs, and Jeff Sanny

University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism. This textbook emphasizes connections between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result. (Source: OpenStax)

 

University Physics, Volume 3 by Samuel J. Ling, Jeff Sanny, and William Moebs

University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics. This textbook emphasizes connections between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result. (Source: OpenStax)

PHYS101: Introduction to Mechanics
Saylor Academy
The first part of Saylor Academy's Introduction to Physics sequence, this course serves as a basic introduction to the current physical understanding of our universe, from an examination of basic principles of physical law, their application to the behavior of objects, and the use of the scientific method in driving advances in this knowledge.

 

PHYS102: Introduction to Electromagnetism
Saylor Academy
The second part of Saylor Academy's Introduction to Physics sequence, topics covered in this course includes examination of waves and oscillations in extended objects; sources and laws that govern static electricity and magnetism; Maxwell's equations; optics; and Einstein's theory of special relativity.

Loading ...