Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources (OER)

An informative guide on what OER are and what services we offer to support your adoption of OER.

Mathematics

Calculus, Volume 1 by Gilbert Strang and Edwin "Jed" Herman

Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration. (Source: OpenStax)

 

Calculus, Volume 2 by Gilbert Strang and Edwin "Jed" Herman

Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 2 covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates. (Source: OpenStax)

 

Calculus, Volume 3 by Gilbert Strang and Edwin "Jed" Herman

Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 3 covers parametric equations and polar coordinates, vectors, functions of several variables, multiple integration, and second-order differential equations. (Source: OpenStax)

 

College Algebra by Jay Abramson

College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned. (Source: OpenStax)

 

Introductory Business Statistics by Alexander Holmes, Barbara Illowsky, and Susan Dean

Introductory Business Statistics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical business examples, scenarios, and exercises. The result is a meaningful understanding of the discipline, which will serve students in their business careers and real-world experiences. (Source: OpenStax)

 

Introductory Statistics by Barbara Illowsky and Susan Dean

Introductory Statistics follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory. Introductory Statistics includes innovative practical applications that make the text relevant and accessible, as well as collaborative exercises, technology integration problems, and statistics labs. (Source: OpenStax)

 

Linear Algebra with Applications by W. Keith Nicholson
The aim of this text is to achieve a balance among computational skills, theory, and applications of linear algebra. It is a relatively advanced introduction to the ideas and techniques of linear algebra targeted for science and engineering students who need to understand not only how to use these methods but also gain insight into why they work. The contents have enough flexibility to present a traditional introduction to the subject, or to allow for a more applied course. (Source: BCcampus OpenEd and Lyryx.) 

 

 

Precalculus by Jay Abramson

Precalculus is adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course. The content is organized by clearly-defined learning objectives and includes worked examples that demonstrate problem-solving approaches in an accessible way. (Source: OpenStax)

Calculus I and II
Lumen 

This expansive course covers topics including limits, derivatives, integration, applications, introduction to differential equations, inverse trigonometric functions, improper integrals and integration techniques, polar and parametric coordinates, sequences and series, and vectors. This text takes a conceptual approach to calculus and includes complete text, videos, and online assessments.

 

Concepts in Statistics
Lumen / Candela

Using highly interactive learning design, the Concepts in Statistics course provides students with a strong understanding of fundamental principles that guide the study of statistical inference. Students learn to summarize data graphically and numerically; examine relationships among quantitative data; understand the role of probability and probability distributions; link probability to statistical inference; and conduct foundational statistical calculations and analyses.

 

MA001: College Algebra
Saylor Academy
This course introduces students to basic algebraic operations and concepts, as well as the structure and use of algebra. Topics include linear inequalities and graphing, exponents, polynomials, and rational expressions. Students will learn basic algebraic operations and concepts, as well as the structure and use of algebra.

 

MA005: Calculus I
Saylor Academy
This course provides a detailed introduction of functions, graphs, limits, continuity, and derivatives, and the relationship between derivatives and graphs.

 

MA111: Introduction to Mathematical Reasoning
Saylor Academy
This course is an examination of the language and practice of set theory, and the theory and practice of mathematical proof. The main purpose of this course is to bridge the gap between introductory mathematics courses in algebra, linear algebra, and calculus on one hand and advanced courses like mathematical analysis and abstract algebra, on the other hand. 

Loading ...