You don't have to find materials by yourself - faculty librarians Allyson Wind and Megan Smith are here to help you. Please reach out to them so they can help you begin finding materials! Email them at oer@esu.edu.
Creative Commons
This page on the Creative Commons website provides search tips and links to an extensive collection of OER resources, including images, videos, music, recorded lectures and video tutorials, textbooks, animation, modular course components, and complete courses.
CCCOER
This page from the Community College Consortium for OER, walks you through the process of searching and identifying OER that may work for you. You can click any of the colored boxes on the bottom to explore their resources by type. Below the boxes they have a link to video tutorials.
OER by Discipline Directory
The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This guide is updated as new resources are identified. See the Versioning History page in the Back Matter for the most recent additions.
These are some of the best resources for finding open textbooks and other OER materials for your classroom. Our librarians are also happy to work with you individually to locate resources well-suited to specific courses.
OASIS
Developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library, Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 71 different sources.
Mason OER Metafinder
The OER Metafinder performs a search across 18 sources of open educational materials. A distinct feature of the Mason OER Metafinder is the scope of its discovery service, which searches well-known OER repositories like OpenStax, OER Commons, and MERLOT but also sites like HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive, NYPL Digital Collections where valuable but often overlooked open educational materials may be found.
Affordable Learning Solutions
This is a search tool from The California State University System. Simply enter the ISBN of your current textbook or another textbook you are considering to receive a list of links to free online course materials related to the topic of that book.
OpenStax
OpenStax is a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University, and it's their mission to give every student the tools they need to be successful in the classroom. They publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are free online and low cost in print. OpenStax textbooks are being used in 48% of college and universities in the U.S. and in over 100 countries.
Open Textbook Library
Hosted by the University of Minnesota and supported by the Open Textbook Network, the Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
BCcampus OpenEd
BCcampus provides a collection of open textbooks aligned with the highest-enrolled subject areas, as well as a selection of books for trades, technology, and skills training. Books can be browsed by subject area, and many are faculty reviewed.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants and SUNY Geneseo.
Wikibooks
Wikibooks is a collaborative book authoring website, where users from all over the world work together to write textbooks and other types of instructional books on many topics.
LibreTexts
With LibreTexts, students, faculty, and outside experts work together to build freely available open education resources (OER) that supplant conventional paper-based textbooks. LibreTexts currently encompass twelve widely used college-level disciplines from chemistry to humanities with over 68,500 pages.
University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing
This is a collection of open textbooks that have been published by the University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing and are licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials
This textbook repository is administrated by Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia, which aims to reduce the cost of textbooks to students and contribute to their retention, progression, and graduation.
American Institute of Mathematics
The American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) seeks to encourage the adoption of open source and open access mathematics textbooks. The AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses and maintains a list of approved textbooks which have been judged to meet these criteria.
MIT OpenCourseWare
OCW is a free and open publication of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum. Each OCW course includes a syllabus, some instructional material (such as lecture notes or a reading list), and some learning activities (such as assignments or exams). Many courses also have complete video lectures, free online textbooks, and faculty teaching insights.
Open Learning Initiative
The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. In addition to high-quality text, the courses also include practice activities, self-assessments, and graded assessments. All course content is included and structured to support the student’s achievement of clearly defined learning objectives.
Lumen Learning
Lumen works with over 200 colleges and universities across the U.S. to provide sustainable, effective course materials that improve learning. Using open educational resources to create well-designed and low-cost course materials that replace expensive textbooks, Lumen’s OER course materials are engineered to improve subject mastery, course completion and retention.
Saylor Academy
Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn. They offer nearly 100 full-length courses at the college and professional levels, curated from a trove of free and open online resources by expert educators.
Open Course Library
From the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges, Open Course Library is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download.
OpenLearn
OpenLearn is a free learning platform, delivered by The Open University as part of its Royal Charter commitment to support the wellbeing of the community. Here you will find almost 1,000 free courses, topical and interactive content, videos and online games.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. From a single point of access, you can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons' growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER, including full courses, interactive mini-lessons and simulations, adaptations of existing open work, and open textbooks.
MERLOT
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials and exercises, created by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers. All the materials in MERLOT are reviewed for suitability for retention in the collection, and many undergo the more extensive peer review for which MERLOT is famous.
The Orange Grove
The Orange Grove is Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. The repository provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources.
Top Hat Marketplace
The Top Hat Marketplace is a destination for free or low-cost, engaging, and high-quality course content. It provides access to over 2,500 interactive textbooks, question packs, slides, presentations, and more.